We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different in Armagh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Moody Boar Restaurant

The Moody Boar Restaurant
Palace Stables | Armagh Public Park, Palace Demesne, Armagh, Northern Ireland
028 37 529678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 50 Restaurants in Armagh
Price range: $14 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Moody Boar has been born out of a Love Food concept; lets get back to basics, start again, a cow isn’t made out of sirloin, fillet & rump alone.At The Moody Boar we are working for sustainability, value, local produce & most of all Flavour.Surrounded by the beautiful Armagh Palace Demesne Public Park & grounds we infuse the Smells, Sights & Flavours from the grounds by growing our own at the restaurant garden & foraging in the Park.This also crosses over into The Moody Boars Interior, out with the new & in with the ‘up-cycled’, the restaurant is relaxed, quirky & stylish in a moody way.We Love Food to be fresh, homemade & full of flavour so we use traditional techniques to ensure respect for the ingredients that we use and the dishes we produce. You’ll notice the difference!!
Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Something different in Armagh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We choose this as we had not tried it before. Called in on Sunday late afternoon. Its a lovely setting and has a nice character (the building and surrounding courtyard are lovely). The staff are friendly but sadly it was let down by mediocre food served at a premium.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    26
    9
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Somewhere between very average and poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

First of all, nothing I've typed here hasn't already been said in person during our visit.

Where do I start? The slight positives ... easy parking and nice surroundings. That's it!

Now the bad bits. Out of six orders, one was wrong and took ten minutes to correct. During this time everyone else was forced to start and finish, otherwise the food would have been cold. Did we get a meaningful apology? No. Two of the main courses were described as 'large' as opposed, I imagine, to smaller, starter-sized portions. Perhaps the owners should consult the dictionary meaning of 'large.' Charging over £9 for a very unimpressive slice of quiche, and the same for 3-4 fairly miserable chicken goujons, is trying to take the proverbial. Oh, and what happened to our couscous on the side?

Overall. Very disappointing indeed. Would I return? Definitely not.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had a good meal here. The service was great and the setting was wonderful. Our only complaint was the drinks served in the quaint bar beforehand could have been served in more appropriate glasses ( school type thick tumblers for a gin and tonic!!)
Will definitely go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARMAGH
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Disappointed and Perplexed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked a table for 6pm on a Friday evening and really just wanted to try the after work special. When we arrived there were only 2 tables occupied and we were shown to a table and given menus - we asked the waiter for the wine list. It did not appear. There we sat for about 15 minutes until another waitress came along and asked if we wanted to order a drink. We told her we had asked for the wine list so she went to get us one. We were left again and I finally had to get up and go to the front desk to ask if someone could take our order for drinks and food. The first waiter was standing there - doing I don't know what. By this stage we were both livid, extremely hungry and bad tempered. I can't understand how restaurants hope to succeed when they employ waiting staff who are obviously inexperienced and out of their depths. A perfunctory "Is everything alright for you?", after the event, does not alter the fact that the service was abysmal. The place was practically empty! The thing is, that despite the food being ok, we will not come back and will not recommend the Moody Boar to any of our friends - and this is such a shame.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moodyboarmanagment, Manager at The Moody Boar Restaurant, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Tamanda

we will ask are waiting staff about this apparent problem of no attention to customers as it would seem other previous trip advisor issues are very similar to yours we have said about this in the past to our staff and do pay attention as to how they look after their customers and can not see were they are lacking as they are very attentitive to their customers but will raise the question again. It is unfortunate that you could not say something at the time as one of the owners were there on the night and could have dealt with it swiftly, also it is a shame that when yous were asked the 'perfunctory' - Is everthing alright for you? that you didnt say anything at that time as you do seem quite angry and able to tell all on tripadvisor but not to the restaurant were we could have dealt with the staff there and then and apologised to yourselves and after this to say what you need to on tripadvisor. It is a shame that information such as (The place was practically empty!) is allowed by tripadvisor as it is believed that these sort of phrases have no reason to be on the review other than to hurt the establisment.

Thank you anyway for your review as all are helpful in someway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Great...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice decor and lovely setting around the Palace Stables, however the food was mediocre and staff did not seem up to the task, when giving it a second chance on another evening with my partner we were rudely turned away as it was 4:00pm even though it clearly stated on the website it stopped service @ 4:30. We were met by the feeble statement 'there is nothing I can do'. Won't be going back as there are other restaurants in the Armagh area above this standard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moodyboarmanagment, Manager at The Moody Boar Restaurant, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi Buzz L

Thank you for your review as all reviews are appricated both positive and construtive critism, we're so amused that you decided to come back to us after experiencing such mediocre food and service the last time you were here. We have always from we opened stopped serving from the kitchen at 4pm thats nearly a year now and altough this can be annoying to some people, are customers do understand that the kitchen does have to prepare for the evening time and have a break themselves after working so hard through the day; so hard in fact that after not even a year open we have been privilrged by being mentioned by Georgina Campbell and The Michelin Guide UK and Ireland. We are a restaurant that does offer a higher standard and thats not for everone and yes you are right that there are other restaurants about Armagh that are more suited to the type of food and service that you will enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moody Boar Restaurant also viewed

Armagh, County Armagh
Armagh, County Armagh
 

Been to The Moody Boar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moody Boar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.