We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillview Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hillview Lodge to your Saves list
Hillview Lodge
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   33 Newtownhamilton Road, Armagh BT60 2DL, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Armagh B&B and Inns
Goes, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed overnight at Hillview Lodge on our way to a wedding. Phoned ahead to inform them of our late arrival and was greeted by the lovely Alice who bent over backwards to accommodate us. The breakfast was outstanding and kept us going for the whole day. Hospitality was second to none and we hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermac, Owner at Hillview Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Hillview Lodge, it was our pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards Alice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
29
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just come home from a 14 day stay at Hillview Lodge, words could not really express how good Alice and Dermot look after there guests. Having stayed in many Hotels and B&B's all over the world, I would clearly state this establishment could train others on how customers want to really feel, totally relaxed and not hurried in any way. To cap our stay I would say THE JEWEL IN THE CROWN OF B&B's

Room Tip: Any room is quiet, on a secluded lane
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermac, Owner at Hillview Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Hillview Lodge it was our pleasure having you stay with us and we enjoyed your company and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kindest Regards Alice & Dermot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wordsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This B&B is an excellent find for me. Ideally placed for research objectives in the neighbouring townlands of Arnaghbreague, Corkley and Tullyvallen. Accommodated my limited mobility 81 year old Mother excellently. Bedroom and facilities are excellent. Hospitality from Alice & Dermot is well beyond the call of duty. Lovely breakfast room with a conservatory with breathtaking views. Adjacent golf driving range. Five minutes from Armagh City, fifteen to Newtownhamilton. This trip was cut short due to my Mum taking poorly and needing to head home early., which was not a problem for the operaors.......! First visit but definitely will be back soon :-)

Room Tip: Home from home.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermac, Owner at Hillview Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Hillview Lodge it was our pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Regards Alice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Look up hospitality in the dictionary and this place personifies it. Alice and her partner are wonderful I can't recommend this place enough. Great Breakfast they couldn't do enough to make us welcome. Lloyd Malcolm

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermac, Owner at Hillview Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Hillview Lodge It was our pleasure having you both stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards Alice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i stayed here for one night for a meeting the next morning. We had a really late check in and the owner arranged keys for us which was really kind.

Our room was spotless and comfortable

Breakfast the next day was perfect and quick, we asked for extra mushrooms and beans and these were brought swiftly.

The owners were really lovely and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermac, Owner at Hillview Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Hillview Lodge we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards Alice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Alice and Dermot really could not have been more helpful nor more solicitous hosts. They made a sad occasion (family bereavement) more tolerable; dropping us into town for emergency shopping and offering breakfast to relatives arriving from England for the day.
We stayed 4 nights. The rooms are spacious, scrupulously clean and well equipped (iron and ironing board were particularly useful)
Breakfast was plentiful and the tea flowed!
We wouldn't hesitate in recommending it and will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermac, Owner at Hillview Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Hillview Lodge, it was our pleasure having you and your family stay with us on you sad occasion. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards Alice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My hubbie and I have recently spent a lovely night at Hillview Lodge. The room was lovely and the bed was very comfy. Alice greeted us on arrival and we instantly felt relaxed and new our stay would be just as we had hoped for. Our breakfast was delicious and the surroundings were peaceful and pretty. Thanks Alice, we would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermac, Owner at Hillview Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Hillview Lodge, we are glad you enjoyed you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards Alice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview Lodge

Address: 33 Newtownhamilton Road, Armagh BT60 2DL, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Armagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillview Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hillview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview Lodge Armagh, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillview Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.