We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too helpful for those with expense accounts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Armagh City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Armagh City Hotel to your Saves list
Armagh City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Friary Road, Armagh BT61 7QJ, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Armagh
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not too helpful for those with expense accounts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is not very attractive from the outside - bit of a concrete apartment block. It is nicer on the inside and had clean and spacious rooms. The restaurant has dark oak panels and furniture which makes it seem a bit gloomy. The food is quite varied, with some Italian, Indian and Chinese type things on the menu. A good range of starters, too. The Duck spring rolls were nice. Breakfast wasn't too bad but could have been better, being a self service buffet with a 'do your own toast' machine and rubbery scrambled eggs. Bit scant on the continental section, not much fruit and a choice of low fat Rhubarb Yoghurt or nothing, at least when I was there.

One thing that was annoying is that they itemise drinks separately on the bill. As a business traveller I am on expenses. If alcohol appears on the bill, I can not claim for it. Note I said 'if it appears on the bill'. My company doesn't care as long as I stay within my budget. Years ago the policy actually said 'reasonable amounts of alcohol will be reimbursed with a meal'. Unfortunately the tax man took a different view. If it says 'beverage' or 'bar' - that is ok, because it could be coffee or a soft drink whatever. I'm not talking about trying to get a ten pint bender past the accounts, here. I had just one small glass of wine with the meal - 165 ml - which they charged me four quid for. On my bill they itemised it as 'glass of wine' separate to the rest of the food, which just said 'Meal'. I asked if they could include it with the meal or change the description and got a flat refusal. I struggle to understand the mentality of hotels who insist on itemising alcohol when they know this must mean most business travellers must pay for it out of their own pocket, then put a HUGE mark up on it, and then wonder why we don't come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - away from the main roads, they are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    85
    50
    28
    28
See reviews for
53
92
11
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel was lovely, everyone was very welcoming. The rooms were a good size and clean.
The dinner was lovely and also the breakfast was very good. The hen party had a great time with the pampering package -nails, make-up and a photo shoot , we all looked lovely and really enjoyed ourselves. We all have a brilliant weekend and would recommend this hotel.

Dianne

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

A very nice hotel. I stayed one night after a wedding. The wedding meal was excellent and the service well managed with no long delays where tables were waiting for food while others were nearly finished. The room was large with an equally large bed. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The breakfast was good. The hotel is only a short walk from the city centre. There is plenty of parking space within the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randalstown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

stayed here for 2 nights on a b/b dinner for our short honeymoon our first room had a bad smell as we were mostly in the room i asked to be moved as the hotel was fully booked the reception said only room was a noisy room the duty manager came to see us owen sorry about the spelling,gave us a great room and great customer service, the breakfast is one of the best i have had and the dinner was the beautiful and plentiful top marks to chef.would come back and recommend. hope to return for our 1st Anniversary.

Room Tip: you can only use leisure facilities between 3-5pm with a voucher from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

stayed here for one night.
i was staying to explore the area and it was the obvious choice hotel.
lobby was open and welcoming but i found check in a bit dutiful , all that taking credit cards and the like and paying up front , i don't think it gives a pleasant experience.
however its common now among the mid range hotels so its not a singular complaint against this hotel.
room was okay , standard really but had a nice balcony albeit it over the car park but some views in the distance, wasn't impressed with the room being advertised as having views of the cathedral , this is not true , you may just catch a glimpse of it far off in the distance.
everything was a described(bar the view) and all functional so no real complaints.
i stayed for dinner and again that was okay , a decent menu but the dish i ordered was mediocre, nothing exceptional just okay.
the bar area was the same , few undesirable local types littered the bar area , very loud and i was asked the highly annoying questions designed to elicit what religion i was , this is unacceptable to me and really annoyed me. however the bar staff were very friendly and helpful. i think the town of armagh doesn't have much of a selection of bars so locals drank here.
breakfast was very good , usual irish breakfast done well and hot and of higher than average quality.
tried the swimming pool and it was like checking in , more emphasis on business than making a guest feel welcome.
for example , loads of signs saying you can only use the pool once? whereby you pay after for each visit and i had to be buzzed in and fill out forms and prove i was a resident and show my card etc etc. just not an experience i am used to and for a hotel charging close to £100 sterling a night i would like to use the spa facilities as often as i like with as little fuss as possible.
all in all an ok hotel but really felt it was a bit flat , lacking something , not a great vibe at all.
wasnt cheap either so that doesnt help and i would of expected a better standard of hospitality.

Room Tip: bring your binoculars for the "fantastic" views of the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

my husband and myself were in irealand for the weekend. we stayed in this hotel for two nights,was not what i expected from this hotel. room was small and view was over rooftops.carpet in room was very dirty, and the valance round the bed was not clean. it was stained.we ate in the resturant the first night, which was very good. staff were lovely.second night we ate in the bar would not recomend.resturant a lot better.this was not a cheap hotel and i really did expect more.

Room Tip: well we were only in one room 135, but would not pick this room, the hotel was very very busy. and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just back from 2nights B&B with 1 evening meal and believe me what a great Hotel...Food in both restaurant and bar were of the highest order. Our room was modern,spacious clean and very comfy. Staff more than helpful and all very pleasant. We used the LA fitness area and found it also a very enjoyable experience. The pool,jacuzzi and steam room were fantastic we're could have spent a lot more time there except my only gripe of the whole hotel visit was you are only permitted one visit to the leisure facilities which was such a shame compared to other hotels we have used in the past were you have unlimited use..... Overall we loved our stay here and would highly recommend a visit if you get the chance. Sam

Room Tip: Rooms at front you may hear a little traffic from main road but nothing to disturb you nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Armagh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armagh City Hotel

Address: 2 Friary Road, Armagh BT61 7QJ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Armagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Armagh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Armagh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armagh City Hotel Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armagh City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.