We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marine Hotel Ballycastle

Save Saved
You added Marine Hotel Ballycastle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
1-3 North Street, Ballycastle BT54 6BN, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ballycastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel for a party night, its was a brilliant night. The food was lovely and the service was great The views from the bedrooms are amazing. I will be returning to this hotel soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Many thanks for your comments.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas party night with us.

I look forward to seeing you at the Marine Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    44
    21
    13
    5
See reviews for
42
46
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I visited Marconi's Bar & Bistro on Monday the 16th of December with my husband, the bistro was very quiet although it is expected before christmas! We both had the christmas lunch and I must say it was beautiful! Followed by most possibly the best christmas pudding! The bistro has a lovely relaxing atmosphere, the young waitress megan that served us was very friendly and welcoming as was the barman! Your front of house staff at reception are a credit to you also! 5 stars for service and the meal; compliments to the chef, everything was perfect and we shall most definitely return! Keep up the good work and good luck for 2014!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi Val,

many thanks for your kind comments about your experience at the Marine Hotel.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us, the Christmas special proved very popular.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

In my opinion over priced hotel in great location
We had an upgrade and room pretty bad! Quite dusty,very unkempt despite renovation and re opening
Maybe teething problems but so not worth 100£a night in my opinion
Lovely ballycastle and its a great hub for all Antrim sights but won't stay here again,a beer or wine in the bar with nice view perhaps but not for overnight!shows disrespect to customers with shabby room

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Apologies for not replying to your comments sooner we had a few issues with a duplicate listing of our page.

Many thanks for your comments.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

The rooms had only been given a soft refurbishment to allow us to open in time for the summer season last year and there are plans in place for a full refurbishment.

I hope this has not put you off returning to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We held a function for 30 people in The Marine Hotel at the weekend, the service we received was excellent, from enquiry to booking, preparation of the function room and customer service from all the staff. The meal itself on the night was fantastic, everyone was quickly served, piping hot and good portion size, there was not one complaint among our party, the staff were friendly and nothing was any trouble. Thank you to Claire and her staff we wont hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments about your function.

I am delighted that all of your party enjoyed the food and service and had a good night.

I hope that you will return to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wordsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Delightful Beef Club Sandwich in the Costa Coffee Bar after visiting Ballycastle Market, a great idea to hold it in the hotel. The complimentary mulled wine was lovely, and service was excellent by your polite young staff!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your sandwich and even more so the complimentary Mulled Wine :)

I hope to welcome you back to the Marine hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Quick lunch and a pint before getting the ferry. Specials menu was fantastic value and really tasty. Good selection of different types pf food available for lunch. We were not staying in the hotel, but I could not find the restaurant listed anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding Marconi's.

We have recently launched a new menu and the feedback regarding it has been very positive.

Maybe next time you will be able to join us for an overnight stay and enjoy a hearty breakfast also.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed at the Marine Hotel 29/30 Nov 2013 with my wife and two friends and had a wonderful time, the staff were outstanding, friendly,efficient and helpful. (cant understand the person from Glasgow comments,he must have stayed in a different hotel to us) The rooms were nice and clean and the bed comfortable with nice covers and curtains, the furniture was a bit tired in places but I understand it is be gradually been refurbished. the food in the restaurant was good and reasonable priced.
The cooked breakfast was excellent
The entertainment on the Saturday night was good but why do they have to wait to 10pm to put it on, this seems to be a growing trend throughout Ireland,much too late for us old oldies.
Overall a lovely weekend and we'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
HI Robert,

many thanks for your kind comments

I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel.

I will take on board your comments regarding the starting time of the entertainment at the weekends and review it for the future.

I hope to welcome you back to the Marine Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marine Hotel Ballycastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel Ballycastle

Address: 1-3 North Street, Ballycastle BT54 6BN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3* hotel on the sea front in Ballycastle - N.Ireland. A short drive from the Giants Causeway and Bushmills Distillery. 31 bedrooms and a range of facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marine Hotel Ballycastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel And Country Club
Marine Hotel Country
Marine Hotel Ballycastle Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marine Hotel Ballycastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.