We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service “second to none”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fullerton Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Fullerton Arms to your Saves list
The Fullerton Arms
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Main Street | Ballintoy, Ballycastle BT54 6LX, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Service “second to none””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for Bobby and the team at The Fullerton Arms, everyone was very welcoming and genuinely interested in helping you relax and enjoy the ambience of this homely establishment.

The ensuite room was warm and spotless with a very comfortable bed, the menu (bar and restaurant) is varied, cooked to perfection and hearty, the bountiful breakfast has something for everyone.

We loved the double sofas next to the glowing peat fire in the hotel bar so much we hardly left the building such was the tranquility, off peak it is the perfect place to relax and unwind, in the summer months with so many attractions on your doorstep it is the ideal haven after a days outing.

However, while the natural attractions, sofas, peat fires, comfortable beds and great food all contribute to a memorable experience it is the people who make the difference, “the staff are the hotel” giving service second to none.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    40
    17
    9
    11
See reviews for
35
70
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and myself recently travelled along the North Antrim coast and decided to stay overnight at this Hotel. It was a totally unexpected surprise and a pleasure. The Staff were friendly,very helpful and attentive. Our room was well equipped,cosy and clean. Dinner turned out to be a real dining experience. The Dinner Menu was fairly extensive (a large emphasis on fish dishes and not surprising considering the locality). Our meal was plentiful and cooked and presented to a standard high above its rating. We would definitely recommend the Mussels, Ribeye steak and Sea Bass..........The Owner who seems to be very much a part of the day to day running of the Hotel found time to direct us to a few of the lesser known beauty spots in the area....we found his attentiveness to his Guests a very refreshing experience....Breakfast was a pleasure and freshly cooked.We would definitely go back soon if only to sample their Homemade Wheaten Bread again.... Conversation between the Breakfast Guests was a novel experience as we looked out at the rain.....it felt like a home from home.....thank you Fullerton Arms and Staff for a lovely start to the New Year...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrickfergus northern ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is our 3rd visit to the fullerton arms, you are made so welcome and the staff ( Bobby, Ronnie,Paul, Tori) will do anything to make your stay comfortable, the food is delicious, the rooms comfortable and warm, we were there for the staff party, fantastic atmosphere, and Kieth the Karaoke man was Brilliant we will be back again next year and cant recommend it more Highly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Leitrim, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Availed of a 2 night Groupon offer at the Fullerton Arms recently. When we booked in at 8pm it would have been their busiest time so took a little while to get someone to show us to our room. However, there was music in the bar which was very good and there was a good atmosphere.
The food in the Fullerton Arms, i can highly recommend. A good varied menu for breakfast and dinner was marvellous. The only downside was that the bed wasn't so comfortable and the whole place could do with a facelift if they are to compete in the business. However, the staff are all very friendly and i would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who wants to use it as a stop-over to explore the beautiful North Antrim coast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

just home from a two day stay at the fullerton arms, there is a welcome sign on the door and that is what this place is all about. on arrival we were greeted by bobby the owner and shown to our room which was not four star but clean and functional.the inn is located in ballintoy village which has a rich history like most of the surrounding area, on your doorstep are the giants causeway/dunluce castle/carrick a rede rope bridge/bushmills distillery the list could go on and on. the staff are very friendly and are happy to give you information on all the local attractions.
the food is excellent with good portions the fullerton arms fry is the best ive had.
the inn has a mixture of locals and residents who use the bar there is a great atmosphere and buzz about the place it is the friendliness which makes this inn a real gem.
good luck to bobby and his team they deserve it for all their hard work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I availed of the groupon offer and my partner and 4 month old son went to the Fullerton Arms at the end of September. It was an excellent location for visiting the North Coast. On first inspection of the room it was spacious but decor and comfort was definately lacking. The t.v had really bad reception and as we were staying in at night with our baby this was dissapointing. The bed was terrible and most definately needs up grading.
On the plus side the staff were very friendly and always had time for a chat. The food was first class. Our breakfast each morning was cooked to order, presented really well and was the best ingredients. We also ate in the restaurant / bar and we were amazed at the excellent taste, quality and quantity of the food. Compliments to the chef!! The food did make up for our stay but unless the Fullerton Arms invest in beds and decor we would only return to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Don't pass this place up! The breakfast was the best I've ever had at a hotel and the restaurant is great too. Have the burger-you wont regret it! The folks working there are so helpful and lovely, I wouldnt dream of going anywhere else for a visit up that direction.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fullerton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fullerton Arms

Address: 22 Main Street | Ballintoy, Ballycastle BT54 6LX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Fullerton Arms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fullerton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fullerton Arms Hotel Ballycastle
Fullerton Arms Ballycastle
Fullerton Arms Hotel Ballycastle
The Fullerton Arms Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fullerton Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.