We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fullerton Arms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Fullerton Arms to your Saves list
The Fullerton Arms
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Main Street | Ballintoy, Ballycastle BT54 6LX, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
carrickfergus northern ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed here and we had a brilliant time, the staff were so friendly and welcoming, the food was delicious and the room superb, we stayed over the halloween weekend on the wine and dine deal and had a truly great time. Many thanks to all the staff who work really hard and hopefully we will be down again soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    45
    19
    9
    11
See reviews for
40
78
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Spent two nights at the Fullerton Arms. The food really sells this place. It was absolutely fabulous. Great presentation, great portions, reasonable prices and all carried out by very pleasant friendly and helpful staff.

Accommodation was comfortable with basic furniture. Wouldn't regard room as being suitable for disabled (wheelchair) users though access to lounge/dining areas and dining room were suitable enough.

Great location for touring around the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

After a long day of sightseeing - and with the weather closing in - we decided to try the Fullerton Arms restaurant in Ballintoy. It was conveniently located just down the road from where we were staying at Bengore House (the most luxurious and elegant bed and breakfast in the Ballycastle/ Ballintoy area).

We were incredibly dubious about the food having eaten the very worst meal of our lives at the pub across the road the night before.

What a wonderful surprise we experienced. The owner was incredibly helpful, the staff extremely pleasant and the surrounds warm and cosy.

Then there was the meal - WOW! The chef at this pub really knows his stuff and is takes obvious pride in his menu and food. He presented us with incredibly fresh and delicious produce, typical of the area. The wheaten bread was home-made and the best we had the whole time we were in Ireland, my sea bass on a bed of champ was to die for and the mussels were incredibly mouth-watering. And then there was the Eton Mess…made with fresh creamm, meringue and berries...truly something to be experienced.

We ate at a lot of 'hatted' restaurants whilst in the UK and Ireland and enjoyed absolutely wonderful meals at them all but this little pub serves up meals comparable to any 5 star restaurant.

Don't miss the chance to enjoy a meal at the Fullerton Arms Hotel. It's conveniently located between the Giants causeway and Carrick-a-rede. You won't be disappointed. We weren't.

Desiree, Jack and Jenny (Australia, Aug 2011)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stopped here with a party of 10 on the way back from Carrick -a - Rede Rope Bridge.

No booking - no problem. 5 kids under 9, 5 adults - no problem.

The food was great, the service was prompt and friendly and the price very reasonable.

All in all, very, very good for food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We had been to Giant Causeway, and wanted a nice meal on the way back. We asked at Giant Causeway hotel, and, after trying to convince us to eat there, booked us a table here.
Food was absolutely excellent - just what we wanted. We'd been looking for some fresh fish, and, along with plenty of other options, this was available. Friendly staff, and reasonable prices Would definitely visit again if we were in the area. Only problem was the size of the portions - they were huge!!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coshocton, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Words are not enough to describe The Fullerton Arms. It is by far the best place I have ever stayed at, in all of Europe. For starters, the food is amazing. Great portions and taste both. The pub is amazing and right there in the building. They even had some live Irish music while we were there. The breakfast is so good too. Even after we left I kept wishing I would wake up here. It is quiet, yet right in the middle of all the attractions. The scenery is stunning and the most beautiful place I have been to in the world. If you are going to visit, then trust me and stay at The Fullerton Arms. Lastly, I want to say thank you to the staff, as you will too becuase they are amazing. Friendly isn't a good enough word to show their kindness. They treated us like family. The owner (Bobby) was awesome and just so sweet. He did all he could to ensure our getting there and our comfort. I usually never go to the same place twice but with this, I cannot wait to go back...and I certainly will!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The owner of the Fullerton Arms is one of the nicest people we met on our trip all over Europe! He went above and beyond to make sure we could enjoy our stay, providing an extra room for our family and even driving us to the Giant's Causeway himself. Everyone on staff was extremely considerate and kind. The whole area is a beautiful place surrounded by stunning views while retaining its quaint charm. Only a few minutes from the Giant's Causeway and the Carrick-a-rede rope bridge, though the small town feel is still evident. We will DEFINITELY be visiting again simply because of the incredible hospitality we received here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fullerton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fullerton Arms

Address: 22 Main Street | Ballintoy, Ballycastle BT54 6LX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Fullerton Arms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Fullerton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fullerton Arms Hotel Ballycastle
Fullerton Arms Ballycastle
Fullerton Arms Hotel Ballycastle
The Fullerton Arms Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fullerton Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.