We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Boyles

Cafe Boyles
14 North Street, Ballycastle BT54 6BN, Northern Ireland
02820769203
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 26 Restaurants in Ballycastle
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cafe boyles is a small, contemporary cafe situated in the beautiful seafront of Ballycastle with spectacular views of Fairhead and the local marina.We ensure that all our customers receive a quick, friendly and courteous service from our personable staff as well as relaxing in a clean, comfortable premises whilst enjoying the spectacular views and a pleasant ambiance.At cafe boyles, we are committed to offering appetizing, locally sourced produce.If you are planning a catch-up over breakfast, a business lunch, an intimate family gathering, a quality tea or coffee or simply a coffee to take out, you can enjoy all of this at cafe boyles.Our child-friendly approach provides a warm welcome to kids with an occupying 'children's corner' and offers an individual kids breakfast and lunch menu.Wheelchair access and baby-changing facilities are readily available.At cafe boyles, we offer free wi-fi, perfect for if you need to catch up on some work whilst enjoying one of our appetizing dishes.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Location and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This cafe is in an ideal location on Ballycastle seafront. Came here and had a cup of tea and a traybake. The staff were very attentive and the food was very tasty. I was also rather impressed by the loose tea. Maybe a little pricey but still a great little cafe.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    15
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovey place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Went into Cafe Boyles with a group of 4 adults and 3 children during the evening service. We all enjoyed our meal, thought the restaurant was clean and the menu had a good variety of dishes. Food was quick to come which was helpful as the children were getting restless. Would go again!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Came here with 3 kids, the staff didn't seem to be very pleased that we arrived, we ended up having to find our own seats, get a baby chair and squeeze into a small table. Another family came in behind us and they too were left. They sat the next table to us and after 10 mins got up and left. The menu is pricey compared to other places close by. The food was good. But the atmosphere wasn't great and the staff didn't seem to want to be there. Wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafeboyles, Owner at Cafe Boyles, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi, thanks for rating us,
I am highly annoyed that you felt you were failed by our service team. I have asked questions and ensured that all staff have been retrained to the standards we expect and which you deserve when you choose cafe boyles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great cafe/bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Boyles deserves its 5* rating. Called in today for the first time with the wife and 3 kids. Great menu, super food and very friendly staff. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A lucky guess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Whilst visiting Ballycastle more by accident than intent, we decided to stop for lunch. Without the help of any reviews at all, we chose Boyles purely by chance and are we glad we did so. This is a cafe/coffee shop rather than a restaurant, but nevertheless, serves a fine choice of food. I had Butternut Squash soup with chilli and various other additions and it was simply delicious, this was accompanied by a Cafe Latte, which was one of the best I have ever had, followed by a tasty slice of Lemon Meringue. Add a mix of superb service and the total amounts to one of the best cafe experiences anywhere. Thank you Boyles for making this visit a moment to savour

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Boyles also viewed

Ballycastle, County Antrim
Ballycastle, County Antrim
 
Ballycastle, County Antrim
Ballycastle, County Antrim
 

Been to Cafe Boyles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Boyles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.