We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of An Caislean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added An Caislean to your Saves list
An Caislean
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   40 Quay Road, Ballycastle BT54 6BH, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Despite booking eight months ago, was allocated a tiny room which fronted onto a busy main road meaning we couldn't open the windows whilst in there. The bathroom was only adequately clean, cracked tiles and a mirror hung too low to shave and a toilet seat which wouldn't stay up - all very disappointing. This accommodation would have to be half the price before I would judge it good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked an ensuite family room for an overnight stay in July 2012. It was spacious with a double and three single beds. Breakfast was cooked to order and the host was very helpful with directions and suggestions for our local visits. Off street parking to front and rear of the property. We would stay here again. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JABWHITE, Manager at An Caislean, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Part of a party of 4 adults we stayed here mid July. Thank goodness it was only for one night! The B&B is one of three in a terrace,all with the same owner. Our room was in the "hostel" side. Terrible.... The bed linen was dirty, room carpet was disgusting, hole in the sheet. Bathroom was mouldy & bath had stains. shower wall attachment was "limp" so had a rinse instead of a shower. And the best is we paid £70 per room for the privilege. Beware.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JABWHITE, Manager at An Caislean, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We very much regret that this guest's stay did not meet our usual exacting standards and have addressed the matter directly with the reviewer. We have, of course, taken on board the issues raised and, as a precaution, have blocked out the room in question from online bookings until we are satisfied that all matters of concern have been fully rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Walking in to this place I felt like it was a home away from home. Situated between both town shopping centres it's accessible to some great shops and pubs. Barkley was fantastic and extremely informative regarding information on where to go on our travels. I booked online but you can also book direct as they can cater for your needs over the phone. Full breakfast included. Most definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We rented 3 bedrooms for 7 family members at An Caislean in Ballycastle on June 6-7. We had a wonderful time-probably the cleanest B&B I've stayed at, yet all the features and warmth of home. Rooms are very spacious, en suite and also shared bathrooms. VERY comfortable beds. The B&B owners were great hosts. My 11yr old son spent hours playing with their dog! Great full Irish breakfast plus lighter options-we had a superior time all around. Town is close to Giants Causeway, has a good beach and views are to die for!

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect-but owners are more than happy to let you view the rooms before renting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and had an absolutely lovely experience. It was quiet, but close to the city center, and was a perfect home base for exploring Antrim. Our host was super warm and helpful, and breakfast was delicious. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Lovely warm welcome from Barkley and Clare. Victorian housr b&b really sweet. Only downside is the shared bathroom facilities, the shower had low pressure and was mouldy in the corners. It was cleaned.... mostly ... jst needed work in that bath/shower. Really good breakfast and both too care from giants causeway. It was quiet and wam, but also offered a hot water botte if you care still cold. Free wifi access and lovely lounge area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JABWHITE, Manager at An Caislean, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Many thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. The shared bathroom you are referring to, although clean and functional, is next in line for refurbishment, although we are finding that a number of guests really appreciate the old style bath tub - especially after a wet Irish day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to An Caislean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Caislean

Address: 40 Quay Road, Ballycastle BT54 6BH, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — An Caislean 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Caislean (comprising three renovated Victorian townhouses: Glenluce Lodge (3 STAR guest house), Corratavey House (bed & breakfast) and Castle Hostel) offers various styles of accommodation for the discerning traveller in Ballycastle, the most picturesque town on the Giants Causeway Coast & Glens of Antrim route. Glenluce Lodge and Corratavey House together seek to create the atmosphere of a boutique hotel, while Castle Hostel offers clean, cosy rooms for the budget traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your An Caislean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Caislean Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Caislean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.