We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J & J's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J & J's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added J & J's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
58 Clare Road, Ballycastle BT546LQ, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
£30 Sharing
Ranked #2 of 24 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

After a hectic start to our day, we arrived at Ballycastle and were greeted by Jennifer, who promptly made us tea and sweet chocolate loaf. She then told us about the area and gave us tips (we got free mini whiskey bottles at the distillery with a code she gave us but the hotel now ropes off its car park so you cannot get free parking at Giant's Causeway). Joe also introduced himself.

We had two rooms as my parents visited with us from the states. My (and my partner's) room was the black and white one on the first floor, facing the main road. I loved the decor and everything was comfortable. I slept well.

We ate at The Diamond restaurant, and it was ok although they are popular so we had slow service. We walked down to the harbour, and that is worth a browse around.

Breakfast was very filling and very nice. It consisted of whatever we wanted... we all had cooked irish brekkies with soda bread.

This is certainly one of the best b&b's I stayed at due to feeling so welcomed.
- jenn and john

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    50
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
110
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Very good service, very nice people, delicious food, beautiful area.
Close to shops and the sea. Basically, everything you need for a great weekend.
Surely there'll be returned yet soon...............

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Once again we stayed at J&J B and B in Ballycastle for our annual visit for the NW200 road racing as always Joe and Jennifer were fantastic hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them. I can highly recommend this B&B and Ballycastle is a stunning location for a break. Well done Joe and Jennifer see you again next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

What another great stay at this bed and breakfast establishment. Joe and jennifer are just the best at everything, they just couldnt do you enough for me and my three mates. Ironing, washing, cups of tea or other beverages and and food was just never far away. The rooms are cleaned everyday, with fresh towels layed out also.

Can,t wait to return next year, I just couldn,t see us staying anywhere else.

Thanks for looking after use.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Myself and three friends visit Northern Ireland every year for the North West 200 motorbike racing event, each year we have stayed at J&J's. On arrival you are made to feel so welcome. Jennifer and Joe go above and beyond to do everything possible to make your stay as enjoyable as it can be. The rooms are clean with TV's, en suite shower's, bed's which are really comfy and regularly changed towel's. And the breakfast's in the morning are delicious. Can't wait to visit again next year.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magheramorne, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My Friends and I had a very enjoyable stay at J &J's Bed and Breakfast, We were made to feel very welcome, and Jennifer was there to help us out on finding how to get to places and where to visit.
The bedrooms were excellent and so were the showers, breakfast was 5 star and when I am back in Ballycastle I would certainly try and stay at J & J's

Laurence Williamson

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I are exploring Ireland for our honeymoon and just happened to find this B&B while looking on google maps for Bed and Breakfast." We loved the location, went to the website and they had booking online available. We got extremely lucky with this random choice. Amazing hosts, amazing location and very comfortable rooms. We liked it so much that we stayed an extra night. Not only did the hosts tell us about the hotspots around the town but they also gave great advice on everything we needed to know about. The breakfast was absolutely delicious! They even gave us a honeymoon gift of a bottle of champagne. There is a secret spot across the road through a field. It is the most amazing view of the coast and for those brave enough there is also a trail that takes you down the cliffs. A little steep but totally worth it if you want to try to make it down. They also gave us tips on how to save money at some of the tourist spots. Overall this was an amazing B&B and I would highly recommend it to anyone coming this way. You couldn't beat the price either. There is a discount for staying more than one night during the week.

Room Tip: White room is extremely cozy and has a little more room than the beige one although the beige has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J & J's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J & J's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 58 Clare Road, Ballycastle BT546LQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on main road going towards Giants Causeway 12 to 15 min drive, and glens of Antrim. short walk to centre of town in one direction and also to beach,tennis courts and harbour in other direction. Free parking which is gated. Free Wi-Fi all rooms have tea and coffee facilities,32 inch flat screen TVs hairdryers. Guest lounge, and smoking area at rear of house. At J and J we offer good value and friendly accommodation ... more   less 
Also Known As:
j & j`s b&b
j & j`s Hotel Ballycastle
j And j`s Bed And Breakfast
J & J's Bed And Breakfast Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J & J's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.