We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“+very friendly and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J & J's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J & J's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added J & J's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Clare Road, Ballycastle BT546LQ, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
wylam, northumberland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“+very friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We arrived to be greeted by our hosts in a very friendly way,
Tea and cakes followed.
In fact tea flowed at all times we were in the house, In the evening we were able to make use of the conservatory,.relaxing with a bottle of wine.
J&Js is a very friendly B&B with comfortable beds and tasty fullsome breakfasts. Jennifer and Joe were able to recommend tucked away beautiful spots to visit which turned out to be gems.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    50
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
108
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Lovely room in tranquil spot with views of forest. Quiet street with parking. Comfy bed. Very friendly and informative owners. We Would never have found hidden gems on the coast without their advice. Excellent large breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdour, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here at the weekend, the rooms were clean, and the decore was really nice! The bed was really comfy, and the bathroom facilities were great! The breakfast in the morning was spot on, Jennifer even asked us the night before what we would like so she could have it ready for us! She sent us on our way with a piece of fruit, which is a lovely thought!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a lovely modern B & B about a 10 minute walk from center of Ballycastle. Rooms were very spacious with a good sized bathroom. There's a sunroom off the back where Jennifer will serve you tea and muffins when you arrive. We had missed lunch so it hit the spot! Her suggestion of dinner at The Diamond Restaurant was perfect (will review that under restaurants.) After dinner we found some trad music at another restaurant called O'Donaughs, I think.
A couple negs: Power shower was strange. It's controlled by string outside of shower, right next to string that turns light on. I couldn't figure out why shower wouldn't turn on. I had apparently turned it off when I turned light on! Instructions on wall would have been helpful. A hair dryer would have been much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grannypenny77, Owner at J & J's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for placing review glad you found your stay and room comfortable Sorry you experienced some difficulity operating power shower I will take on board what you said and leave written instructions , You may not have realised but in all guest rooms there is a hair dryer kept in drawer
Thank you Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Dear friends were getting married in Northern Ireland, on the same weekend as the Northwestern Moto Race! Of course, we left it till late to book, and that resulted in a nightmare of a search. All the places were either booked or offering exuberant prices! We got so Lucky with Jennifer as she had a fantastic standard of rooms, a delicious Irish fry and even helped us get ready for the wedding. "Why wasn't she already booked?" you might ask. We did to, so went into it apprehensively. Well, she doesn't just book to anyone. The people here are friendly respectful and quiet. We were so pleased to have a good room, a good breakfast, and be around good people. Top marks all around. Could be we were pleasantly surprised, or could be based on the comparable offers in the area, but we give it full marks. It's not the Four Seasons, or the Ritz, but that's not what we expected so we can't compare it to that. But when Jennifer bent over backwards to help us with getting ready I'd say that puts this place in the "will return" column.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grannypenny77, Owner at J & J's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us it was a pleasure having you both as guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Visited Ballycastle last weekend for the Maritime Festival. We stayed in room 5 in Jennifer's wonderful B & B. Such friendly and accommodating atmosphere, like staying at your aunties. It is approximately a 10 minute walk into town if you turn right when you leave, but if you turn left and left again it is a shorter walk. Really comfy bed too and Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Best i have ever visited, just couldn,t do enough for us. We stayed for 4 nights and also stayed last year. Definetaly stay again next year. The rooms are very tidy and cleaned every day, Jennifer did all our ironing for us. When we went out on return Joe or Jenny would make us a brew and bring cakes in.

Jasper

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J & J's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J & J's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Clare Road, Ballycastle BT546LQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
j & j`s b&b
j & j`s Hotel Ballycastle
j And j`s Bed And Breakfast
J & J's Bed And Breakfast Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J & J's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.