We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful host” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J & J's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J & J's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added J & J's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Clare Road, Ballycastle BT546LQ, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for just one night. It's not really close to the town centre but the short walk down is quite easy and quick (better take a taxi to come back). The room was beautiful, clean and tidy. Breakfast could be a bit better comparing to other B&B we're stayed in Ireland. Jennifer, the host, was the nicest person. The time had changed that night and she was very annoyed with herself because of the time of breakfast. But, really, it wasn't a problem for us since we were traveling, so no rush! I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grannypenny77, Owner at J & J's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place review and thank you for being so understanding about my mix up in the time change on the morning of your departure. Perhaps if you chance to stay again you may decide to opt for the full Irish breakfast instead of the Continental choice you opted for which consisted of a range of cheeses, ham, tomatoes, croissants yogurts,fruit and choice of cereals and toast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    50
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
108
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My family stayed at J & J for a weekend and from arrival to leaving we had wonderful service from the owners. Tea on arrival and even took us to our party venue in the evening! Nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful warm bedrooms, superb breakfast. Ballycastle may not have a hotel but I suggest you look no further than J& J. Other members of our family also stayed there and I know would agree with all I have said. Definately would book there again! walking distance to the town and harbour amenities.

Room Tip: All rooms top class..The one room without ensuite had sole access to the bathroom (bathrobes provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grannypenny77, Owner at J & J's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review for us . Glad you enjoyed your stay It was a pleasure having you stay look forward to meeting you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for just one night, but it was all that we had hoped for. It is a short walk to Ballycastle centre (up a bit of a hill on the way back, which wasn't a problem for us). The rooms were clean and tidy and the breakfast was great. Joe made a good recommendation for somewhere to eat in the evening, and his suggestion that we visited Ballintoy Harbour the following day as we continued on our travels was a great call. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

this b&b is a must for anyone who travels jennifer and joe are about the nicest people you could ever meet just a pity we didint meet jennifer in person but joe was just great could not do enough for us it was just home from home rooms were clean and tidy beds were very comfortable the food was great with plenty to eat and we were made very welcome me my wife and two friends stayed for two nights and were sorry to have to leave we will definatly be back in the near future.

Room Tip: choose any room they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

stayed here over the mother's day weekend in march had an absolutley fantastic stay the b&b was fantastic the rooms were beautiful and the whole b&b was brilliant the place was very clean and the the food was fantastic the owners of the b&b were brilliant they were really good to myself and my mother and so friendly they were really helpful the room was amazing had an really brilliant stay and recomened this b&b to everyone brilliant place very warm welcome the owners jennifer and joe also ensured we had everyting we needed and everything was spottlessly clean would deffently be back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic and very helpful owners. Great place to stay at. We spent one night in j&j, w were warm welcomed. Everything was ready for us and there was a baby cot already waiting for our child. Definitely would come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here for a night in January. We were treated like royalty! Absolutely couldn't fault this B&B. Jennifer and Joe both very welcoming and ensured we had everything that we needed. They even drove us to the town centre so we could get a late night pint!! Everything was spotlessly clean! Breakfast was amazing too! Couldn't recommend them more :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J & J's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J & J's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Clare Road, Ballycastle BT546LQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
j & j`s b&b
j & j`s Hotel Ballycastle
j And j`s Bed And Breakfast
J & J's Bed And Breakfast Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J & J's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.