We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hostess made it for us.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Haven Bed and Breakfast

Glen Haven Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glen Haven Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Glen Haven Bed and Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Whitehall Avenue, Ballycastle BT54 6WB, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
Crumlin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The hostess made it for us.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant hostess (Irene) running the B and B. set a little out of town, in nice quiet area. The room was homely and plenty of space. breakfast was fab. Felt like a home away from home, was even offered a cuppa tea as soon as we got there. Irene couldn't have been more helpful. Organised a taxi to a restaurant for dinner and recommended venues to go for some love music. Great stay we shall be back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here while we were in ballycastle and we loved it, the business is a five minute walk from the main street and is out of the hustle and bustle of the surprisingly busy little town. As all the reviews say is immaculate and very good value, Irene is a character and her full Irish fry's are perfect. I was happy to find there was free WiFi and was able to get my internet fix while we stayed.
I will definitely recommend this b&b to my friends and family and would recommend it to anyone reading this too. We will be back.

Room Tip: family room is available and beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our first visit to NI and chose to make Ballycastle our centre for exploring NI. In retrospect we couldn't have made a better choice both for a centre and for the stay at Glen Haven which we chose because it is on the outskirts of Ballycastle. We spent 7 nights at Glen Haven and regretted leaving. The hospitality was first class, being both very friendly and happy to cater for individual needs. The breakfasts were excellent both in quality and quantity and provided at a time set by us (on our last day we needed b/fast at 7 am). Our visit to NI has been a memorable experience not least due to Glen Haven's friendly atmosphere with chatting to other guests at b/fast time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

A last minute decision to race at the Armoy road races mean't I had very little time to find a place to stay, but Irene went out of her way to accommodate me. Just down the road from the circuit [and a stones throw from the coast and all those fabulous tourist places such as Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-rede rope bridge or the North West 200 road races for that matter] it was the perfect spot. Irene welcomed me in with tea and biscuits. The exceptionally clean and comfy bedroom complete with ensuite was the perfect treat after a day's competing. And the homemade breakfast was the perfect start to my day of racing. I'll be staying again, and again! Maria Costello MBE

Room Tip: All rooms have ensuite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were on the way to the Giant's Causeway and booked this B&B via the tourist information centre in Belfast. We arrived at half past nine in the evening, 30 minutes later than we expected because it took us longer to find the B&B as we were not yet familiar with driving in Ireland. We were warmly welcomed by Irene, who realised that we probably had not yet eaten and made us toast and tea. The house is nicely located in a tranquill area with beautiful environment. Visitors who wish to walk to the town centre may find it a bit far away but it was not a problem for us as we just needed a place to stay for a night before heading off to the Giant's Causeway. The next morning we were served with tasteful homemade breakfast by Irene. Hearty B&B experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My 13 year old son and me spent two days in Irene's Glenhaven. We really found it a place to come home to after our trips in the area. A clean and well maintained bedroom with two beds, an ensuite and television, a very good breakfast, and last but not least a very friendly and hospitable owner. Don't let Irene's frail posture fool you though because she has a black belt in Karate :)
Seriously, if I ever go back to Northern Ireland i will definitely stop over at Glenhaven.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiremoor, newcastle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

this is the fourth year i have stayed at the glenhaven as a guest of irene who is a very friendly and well respected member of the local community, the facilities at the house are second to none as is the welcome and especially the breakfast. the locaction is on a quiet estate of privately owned houses and is a brisk ten minute walk to the town. where i have always found the local residents both warm and welcoming. i cannot recommend this guest house highly enough. see you next year irene, thanks again.

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Haven Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Haven Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9 Whitehall Avenue, Ballycastle BT54 6WB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glen Haven Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glen Haven Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Haven Bed And Breakfast Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Haven Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.