We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenluce Guest House

Glenluce Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenluce Guest House
Save
You added Glenluce Guest House to your Saves list
42 Quay Road, Ballycastle BT54 6BH, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 24 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent value, very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We spent one night at Glenluce guesthouse and were very pleased with the service and comfort. There is good off-street parking and wifi. A variety of places for lunch and dinner are within walking distance, and the views from the waterfront are lovely. The staff went out of their way to help us, and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Glenluce is truly a gem. We only stayed for one night and I wish we could have stayed for longer! The location is excellent (right by the waterfront and in the heart of the Causeway Coast), the price is very good, and the breakfast was delicious. Our room was clean and comfortable. Most of all, Berkley (the owner) was truly a sweetheart. He parked our unwieldy rental car for us in his narrow driveway, hauled our heavy suitcases up to our room, and even offered washcloths to us, as he knew that many Americans tend to prefer showering with washcloths. He was so friendly and helpful. I'd stay at Glenluce Guest House again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Eight of us stayed for three nights on a bike tour of the north. From the start Clare and Berkeley couldnt be more helpful sorting out all requirments. All our rooms were clean and well presented. Living at Glenluce felt like being at home. Nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was high standard. Afternoon t in the cafe was very nice, didnt try evening meal in time we had but assume would be good. Overall one of the most welcoming and relaxing places i have stayed for a long time.
We liked The House of McDonnell in the centre of town for unspoilt quality, The Harbour Bar on seafront, plain but honest, and The Cellar restaurant good value very good food.

Room Tip: Just ask the owners when booking and they will advise you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmederland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Stayed at Glenluce Lodge for 4 nights in october. We were impressed by the staff and were provided with excellent service.
We would absolutely come back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

The Glenluce Lodge was a good little place. It was clean and decently priced. I was told the larger hotels or B&Bs are absolutely horrendous. I heard this from other travelers as well as people I met on the road who were actually from the town. It was a great location and an easy ride to the Causeway. Clean and when I bring my friends to visit Ireland I will stay here again. One or two nights max. Its basic but clean - most importantly. Don't expect much but it's pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

We stayed in Glenluce just a couple of days ago, very nice guesthouse in a enormous Victorian house. Neal welcomed us with a big smile, nice room and shower, but they could change the bed, you could feel and hear the spirals in the matrass.
Perfect breakfast. Great for a nights stay. Just 5-10 minutes walk to the town and harbor.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KILDARE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

my wife and i would like advise anyone looking for a b&b stay at this one great central location when touring. breakfast is great thanks to the 12 chickens in the back yard organic eggs no noise includeing the chickens friendly and clean dont miss house of mcdonnald pub just up the road good value

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenluce Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenluce Guest House

Address: 42 Quay Road, Ballycastle BT54 6BH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Glenluce Guest House Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenluce Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.