We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cookery School” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Street South

James Street South
21 James Street South | BT2 7GA, Belfast BT2 7GA, Northern Ireland (City Centre)
02890434310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 732 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $27 - $114
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: City Centre Restaurant with Cookery School. Using the best of Northern Iris produce for a seasonal menu. Set lunch and pre theatre daily from fifteen pounds and fifty pence for two courses, A La Carte and Tasting Menu always available. Now with Private Dining Room and The Bar and Grill, a more casual dining option located next door.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cookery School”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Was given a gift voucher for the cookery school as a present and was able to book a class of interest online. The class was nicely sized at 9 persons and take place in a well fitted room. Great time had by all and it's hard to complain about the food as you cook the 3 courses yourself ! Only issue was heat in room once all the pots and pans are on. Will definately be back and highly recommend the experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerjss, Manager at James Street South, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Sjk1975,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our cookery school, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest Regards,

The Team at James Street South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    95
    45
    27
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bland and Poor Value for Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Ate here before and it was great, so was reasonably confident to know what to expect - but what has happened to this place? Has it just gone downhill, was it just having a bad night or are many other places doing it better for far less money,

Let me first make a qualification; we are experienced diners and we understand quality, portion size and cost perfectly well and it is on all these issues that James St fell down badly.

First the food - all except one dish was just plain ordinary, The crab and pea risotto had no discernible content or flavour of crab in it, The lamb, even with the jus, was dreadful, served several ways they somehow managed to completely make one of the simplest and most flavoursome meats on the planet completely tasteless - it was like dry cardboard! The chutney served with the cheese was so lumpy that is was just an unpleasant disconnected mess.

Second the portion sizes. The lamb was an absolutely titchy portion size and the JSS plate of salmon, tuna, venison and pork belly were equally sparse - one forkful of each is simply not acceptable.

Finally the cost. We have eaten here before and with all such restaurants we are more than happy to pay for fine dining experiences. JSS unfortunately left us with the impression that it really was overpriced for the meal we received. There was no feeling that any part of the meal was even reasonable value!

And all these reasons combined are why I am giving this restaurant a Poor review rather than an Average review. Any one issue taken in isolation should not equal a poor review for a restaurant but I'm afraid that all three aspects combined were so disappointing that the overall dining experience really warrants nothing more than a ' Poor' rating.

The service was good but I'm afraid to say that our experience is that other local reastaurants ( none of which I think it is fair to name ) are doing it much better and are far better value for money.

Why did I not complain on the night? It is my perogative not to make a disappointing night any worse.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerjss, Owner at James Street South, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Junfinstel,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we welcome all feedback whether positive or otherwise.

We normally pride ourselves on our standards of food and service, clearly on your visit with us we have fallen short of them. I can only profusely apologise for your dining experience with us and I can assure you that all of your points have been addressed with the team.

I do hope that you will return and give us another chance, if you could please ask for our General Manager, Nicola upon reserving we will ensure that your next visit with us is a more memorable one for all the right reasons.

Kindest Regards,

Niall McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Anniversary meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Fantastic food anyone that hasn't been here should go the atmosphere is good and the service impeccable I had pea & crab risotto followed by the venison my husband ordered the pork which was tough and without any trouble they changed it to the venison and even brought me a fresh meal as well. They had been having problems already with the pork. A must for any one who loves great food. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerjss, Manager at James Street South, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Chinablue40,

Thank you for taking the time to post your very complimentary review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your anniversary with us.

The pork dish has now been removed from the menu but I am thrilled that your husband enjoyed the venison.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

The Team at James Street South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

What more can I say, quite simply the best restaurant in Belfast. I love it.If you are visiting Belfast it's a must. If you live in Belfast then why have you not been here already????

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerjss, Manager at James Street South, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Ladyllewellyn,

Thank you for taking the time to post your very flattering review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us.

Please continue to spread the good word and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest Regards,

The Team at James Street South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Really hard to beat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Visited Saturday night and had a superb meal. From the cured salmon to the steak no complaints possible . Service was excellent and Nial on hand to ensure food was sublime. J Nicholson wine list added to the fab fare on offer. No rush to vacate table. Well worth a visit which I I'm due to repeat on 02013

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerjss, Manager at James Street South, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Beekeeper16328,

Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review, customer feedback is of the highest importance to us.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us, the cured salmon is also a personal favourite of mine.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest Regards,

The Team at James Street South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Street South also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to James Street South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Street South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.