We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura

Sakura
82, Botanic Avenue, Belfast BT7 1JR, Northern Ireland (Queen's Quarter)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 811 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Queen's Quarter
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Been here a few times now, in the upstairs restaurant and it has been consistently good and on a par if not better than other Japanese restaurants I have visited in Belfast. Maybe not as 'glitzy' but if you are there for the food, glitz isn't important.Great variety of both Japanese and Chinese food efficiently and pleasantly served. They also have a 'take out' service.
The restaurant always seems full- so obviously there is more than me who finds it delightful. Great location too. When you finish your meal and leave, you are surrounded by many of the top spots on Botanic ave/ Bradbury place and a short stroll from the Lisburn Road. Reasonably priced too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    47
    14
    20
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Japanese sushi option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We like to try sushi in the various cities we travel. We booked a regular table at Sakura (rather than the abominable conveyor belt bar seat) and hunkered down.

Our family of four tried the miso soup (good), edamame, crab tempura (okay) and a selection of sushi. The sushi was good if a little plain. We had a mixture of nigiri (sushi over rice) and rolls. We tried to pick a mixture of complex and simple (for the kids). We ended up with a little more of the tougher selections (octopus, squid, clam) than we normally would.

Service was very friendly and efficient.

It wasn't cheap nor too expensive. We are somewhat sushi regulars (or at least we were when living in the States) and this doesn't quite measure up to the better places but is plenty adequate for a fix.

If you think sushi is supposed to come on a conveyor belt, please try it the proper way -- made to order!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivrea, Italy
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“You have to pay for good sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is not a cheap restaurant, but the price are on line for a good japanese restaurant. i had the possibility to eat here twice and never got disappointed. the sushi bar is really expensive in the evening, that's why i'm giving 4 and not 5. For sure i suggest to seat at normal resturant if you're goingo for dinner. The place is clean and the service is quite fast. i really had good meal and for sure i would suggest this place to everyone's intrested in japanese restaurant in Belfast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Belast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

One of the best sushi joints in town. It might not have the style and glitz of Zen, but the food is consistently good with a smaller menu - which for me means better quality.
Top tip - don't eat from the sushi train - the foods been there for a while. Order it directly and it will be made fresh for you!
The only negative is the staff are far too efficient and it comes across as rude - if they slowed down and didn't take your plate away from you when you've picked up the last piece it would be a better overall experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Traditional Japanese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Lovely Japanese food, 4 of us where there, we had starters, main course, 2 bottles of wine, bill was £96.00 which was great based on the quality of the food. All fresh cooked, sushi train was yummy, reasonably priced, Staff very friendly and helpful too. I'll be back :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.