We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scalini Restaurant

Scalini Restaurant
85 Botanic Avenue, Belfast BT7 1JL, Northern Ireland (Queen's Quarter)
02890 320 303
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 811 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Queen's Quarter
Birmingham
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Lovely Setting, good selection on menu, attentive staff. Highly recommended. The dessert menu was great

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    119
    35
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Consistantly the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Service, attention to detail, menu, food, access, heat (yes heat - it's usually nice and warm), prices. Scalini's is excellent all round. 10/10 for their very attentive Manager/Owner chap with the dark receding hair who's ALWAYS there - night or day!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Italian Food Factory”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I vistited Scalini upon a recommendation from the guest house I was staying at around the corner. Wasn't impressed. The decor was 100% as was the cleanliness... but we were served by "kids" who weren't all that interested... and the mgt staff were too busy chatting to even check if we were ok. The food was just ok,,, The pizza was good, I have to admit... but some if the sauces felt as if they came out of a Campbell's tin...(although I am sure they didn't) We were a group of 4 and I tht I was just being picky, but on the train south next day.... all of my guests agreed that something was lacking. I now eat elsewhere when feeling like an Italian meal when I visit B'fast

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Must Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Visiting friends in Belfast and dining out most evenings. One place they made sure we ate at was Scalini's and what a great suggestion. Ten of us went for a meal and some drinks. The food was every bit as good as they told me. For two hours, we wined and dined and enjoyed a nice night out. The settings are very quaint and personable. The service may have been a tad delayed but we were in no hurry. The food was very good and the presentation was just as good.
It was very Italian, from the surrounding, to the lighting. A great night out.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had no booking made, but called here about 8.30 on Friday evening and were told there would be no problem getting a table, we were asked to wait which was no more than 10 minutes before being shown to our table.
The restaurant itself is huge, spread over 3 floors with Tuscan decor and although the place was packed you weren't sitting on top of anyone.
The food and service were excellent, I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scalini Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Scalini Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scalini Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.