We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth a Visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shu Restaurant

Shu Restaurant
253 Lisburn Road, Belfast BT9 7EN, Northern Ireland
02890381655
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Shu Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 811 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $38 - $53
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Found this restaurant while in Belfast just a £5 taxi ride from the city centre. Was a Wednesday evening but not a table left so make sure, like us, you book in advance. Food was fantastic with matching service even though they were full. Had the deal for two for £55 incl wine then added a melt in the middle chocolate pud - delicious. Wish there was something similar in Newcastle!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    94
    40
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Most amazing food and wine I have had!! Incredibly helpful staff and lovely atmosphere; I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was booked by family for a surprise for my wife and myself.
The food was outstanding and very tasty. The menu was very exciting and had something different. I had the lamb cooked in straw with herbs it was delicious. The atmosphere was buzzing.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. They had a good knowledge of the dishes and wines. Top restaurant for a special night out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Happy diners.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Booked at short notice, and greeted graciously on arrival.
Top marks for cleanliness and ambience. Staff well trained and attentive. Fixed price menu meant no horrible surprises. Food of good quality nicely cooked and presented. As Arnie says......I'll be back!
GVFM

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I really love this restaurant.

This is where we go for a special occasion as we know we will never be let down.

Food is exciting and tasty, with a varied and interesting menu. Last time we were there we had some of the specials which were outstanding.

The Service is warm and friendly but not intrusive.

There is a real buzz in the restaurant on a bust weekend evening, and during the week it feels relaxed and comfortable.

Cannot wait to go back again

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shu Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Shu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.