We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crumlin Road Gaol

Crumlin Road Gaol
Crumlin Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland
02890 741500
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$334*
and up
2-Day 'Game of Thrones' Tour from Dublin...
Ranked #2 of 122 Attractions in Belfast
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Crumlin Road Gaol dates back to 1845 and closed it's doors as a working prison in 1996. After extensive renovations the gaol has re opened as a visitor attraction and conference centre. Today you can take a guided tour of the prison and hear about the history of the site from when women and children were held within it's walls through to the political segregation of republican and loyalist prisoners and learn about why the decision was taken to close the prison.During the tour of the gaol you will be taken by your tour guide to visit the underground tunnel that used to connect the gaol to the Crumlin Road Courthouse, you will get a chance to sit in the Governor's chair, view all the wings from the circle and of course pay a visit to the condemned mans cell before seeing the execution cell where the majority of the 17 men were hanged.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Tour location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 NEW

Went this summer, great tour, very well organised and has a great cafe for coffee. Parking available with pre booking.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,238
    355
    72
    13
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely Dissappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 NEW

My friends and I had traveled up from Dublin to see the Gaol. It said on their website, their information brochure and their information signs inside the gaol that the last tour was at 4.30pm. We arrived at 4pm to be told that their last tour was at 3pm. The staff were not even apologetic. The only alternative that they offered was their gift store. Why would we want to visit that if we were not allowed a tour of the Gaol. We had to wait for some time for a taxi ( which I asked them to call for us) and there seemed to be plenty of staff there that could have taken us into one part of the gaol for even 5 minutes. I work in the heritage industry and this is what I would have done. They said it was closed early for Christmas but they should have put this information on their website instead of wasting our time in coming up there. When I complained a staff member said she did not know why it was not up on the website. Not very helpful.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Terrible! Tour Guides lacked knowledge...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW

As an Irish Republican ex prisoner of Crumlin Rd Gaol I was disappointed by the tour guides knowledge of the place. She avoided a lot of things that present generation should hear and know about

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Little piece of history if even an unplesant one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW

The tour was quite informative. One sort of dives into the Victorian times. Expected to hear more about the times of "troubles" though.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent insights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW

The tour was an excellent insight into the life of a Belfast landmark, and by proxy life in Belfast and the Troubles. The prison was divided into wings for Troubles-related inmates, and wings for 'ordinary decent criminals'. Ray, our guide, was great.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crumlin Road Gaol also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Crumlin Road Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crumlin Road Gaol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.