We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The past comes to life.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crumlin Road Gaol

Crumlin Road Gaol
Crumlin Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland
02890 741500
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 155 Attractions in Belfast
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Crumlin Road Gaol dates back to 1845 and closed it's doors as a working prison in 1996. After extensive renovations the gaol has re opened as a visitor attraction and conference centre. Today you can take a guided tour of the prison and hear about the history of the site from when women and children were held within it's walls through to the political segregation of republican and loyalist prisoners and learn about why the decision was taken to close the prison.During the tour of the gaol you will be taken by your tour guide to visit the underground tunnel that used to connect the gaol to the Crumlin Road Courthouse, you will get a chance to sit in the Governor's chair, view all the wings from the circle and of course pay a visit to the condemned mans cell before seeing the execution cell where the majority of the 17 men were hanged.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The past comes to life.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014 NEW

Vivid presentation of the jail's early days, with recreated cell contents and a very good guided tour. We saw the tunnel leading to the court house, now ruined, over the road. Some of today's politicians were inmates here,

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,007
    287
    55
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014 NEW

Fantastic visit, so sorry that the building across the road has been allowed to become the way it is. Come on Belfast PLEASE sort it.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014 NEW

I booked this as part of a work event. As there was a big crowd they split us into smaller groups allowing everyone to enjoy the experience. The tour was informative as well as funny. I would love to go to the early hours tour - is there really ghosts?

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour and fascinating history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014 NEW

I have to confess to knowing very little about Northern Irish history beyond the contents of my guidebook before arriving for a long weekend in Belfast. The first thing we did en route from the airport was a tour of this prison, and it was a great introduction to the intriguing insights still to come over the rest of our weekend in the Northern Irish capital.
Our tour guide was called Eoghan and was brilliant: almost a little sinister himself too, in fact! He took us all around the building: down into the tunnel which led to the [currently crumbling] courthouse, he showed us inside a cell and took us to the barely-marked graves of the men who were executed there. It was a pretty harrowing experience, but really interesting - I can't recommend it enough.
Delicious scones and wheaten bread in the café, too! I feel the place just needs more publicity because it's a real gem!

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014 NEW

Enjoyed walking around the prison always wanted to go to prison now I have.Like that the guide knew alot didn't even have it written down on paper impressed and I wasn't even bored first time I've been on a guided tour anywhere.Can't walk around the place by yourself but didn't matter because it was still a good experience was even allowed to take photos the only thing I didn't like was that people got in the way of photos and took their time taking their own photos so missed some photo opportunities.Like that the staff was friendly would go again if I was in the area.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crumlin Road Gaol also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Crumlin Road Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crumlin Road Gaol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;