We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crumlin Road Gaol

Crumlin Road Gaol
Crumlin Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland
02890 741500
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Crumlin Road Gaol like an insider
Top Rated
$19*
and up
City Sightseeing Belfast Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #1 of 265 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Crumlin Road Gaol dates back to 1845 and closed it's doors as a working prison in 1996. After extensive renovations the gaol has re opened as a visitor attraction and conference centre. Today you can take a guided tour of the prison and hear about the history of the site from when women and children were held within it's walls through to the political segregation of republican and loyalist prisoners and learn about why the decision was taken to close the prison.During the tour of the gaol you will be taken by your tour guide to visit the underground tunnel that used to connect the gaol to the Crumlin Road Courthouse, you will get a chance to sit in the Governor's chair, view all the wings from the circle and of course pay a visit to the condemned mans cell before seeing the execution cell where the majority of the 17 men were hanged.
Belfast
1 review
“Lucy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Excellent tour guide , friendly and kept the whole group interested and entertained she certainly knows her stuff
Hard to believe this is only up the road from were i live and i took so long to visit, will def be back

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crumlin_Road_Gaol, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi Cmt30,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Gaol tour. I am delighted to hear you found your tour guide excellent and friendly. This is always great to hear. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you,

Crumlin Road Gaol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,557
    441
    88
    15
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Alittle intimidating know that so many inmates were executed there, but beautiful ironwork, architecture, etc. Our Tour Guide was funny, and very knowledgeable. Not to miss.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crumlin_Road_Gaol, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi jcosgroveUxbridge,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Gaol tour. I am delighted to hear you found your tour guide funny and very knowledgeable and that you found the ironwork and architecture beautiful. We hope to see you visit the Gaol again soon.

Thank you,

Crumlin Road Gaol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Loved it soo much history and a shocking twist near the end of the tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Absolutely loved this. It was recommended by a friend of mines and it didn't disappoint. Our tour guide Brendan was fantastic, seemed a great fella who kept us entertained throughout.

I wasn't expecting to hear some of the thing I'd heard which kept us entertained throughout. Will definitely come back up for a paranormal tour! Cannot wait :)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crumlin_Road_Gaol, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi Donegal_costa,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Gaol tour. I am delighted to hear you absolutely loved the tour and that it did not disappoint. It is also great to hear your tour guide also made a positive impression. We look forward to having you back to enjoy our paranormal tour.

Thank you,

Crumlin Road Gaol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Really interesting tour, the tour guide knew a lot and made the tour very interesting, definitely recommended!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crumlin_Road_Gaol, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi katie h,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on your Gaol tour. I am delighted to hear you found it to be an interesting tour and that your tour guide also made a positive impression. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,

Crumlin Road Gaol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“second visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was our families 2nd visit as my sister in law was back home on a visit from LA. Our first visit (shortly after the Gaol first opened for tours) would have been rated excellent. The tour itself was of the same high standard however I think the refurbishment has gone too far and the gaol has lost a lot of its character, some of it is just far too new.. I also feel it has become too commercialised. Some areas rather than being restored have been turned into welcome centres,wedding venues etc. We had to pass by a group having a coffee break from some sort of convention during our tour which totally destroyed the atmosphere if the modernisation hadn't already.. Sorry for rant but I was so disappointed after the success of the first tour. Despite this rant it is still a very worthwhite visitor attraction and tour with lots of history in small museum as well. Not to be missed is still my final advice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crumlin_Road_Gaol, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi Jim E,

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour of Crumlin Road Gaol. I am delighted to hear your first visit to the Gaol was excellent however I am sorry to hear that on your second visit you did not feel as if it was of the same standard. Overall despite this it is great to hear you still find it a worthwhile attraction and that is it not to be missed.

Thank you,

Crumlin Road Gaol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crumlin Road Gaol also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Crumlin Road Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crumlin Road Gaol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.