We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crumlin Road Gaol

Crumlin Road Gaol
Crumlin Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland
02890 741500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 156 attractions in Belfast
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Crumlin Road Gaol dates back to 1845 and closed it's doors as a working prison in 1996. After extensive renovations the gaol has re opened as a visitor attraction and conference centre. Today you can take a guided tour of the prison and hear about the history of the site from when women and children were held within it's walls through to the political segregation of republican and loyalist prisoners and learn about why the decision was taken to close the prison.During the tour of the gaol you will be taken by your tour guide to visit the underground tunnel that used to connect the gaol to the Crumlin Road Courthouse, you will get a chance to sit in the Governor's chair, view all the wings from the circle and of course pay a visit to the condemned mans cell before seeing the execution cell where the majority of the 17 men were hanged.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We went on the tour on 5/2/13 we found the tour very interesting and informative. Our tour guide Roy was absolutely lovely and very good at keeping the group informed with stories of the gaol, it was exciting being able to go along the tunnel to the court house and to see what it would have been like for prisoners! All in all it was a fantastic tour, well worth the money to be able to see and hear the history of the gaol, espically the condemed mans cell and the drop cell! which is interesting but at the same time slightly sad, Highly recommended tour!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestbelfasttour, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Lauraandsimonb

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to the Crumlin Road Gaol. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the tour and found it interesting. I will make sure that Roy is made aware of your positive comments and also inform the rest of the team.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    922
    267
    54
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swinton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Excellent tour with an excellent guide. Very interesting. Try and book your time of tour before you go as you could end up waiting in reception area

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestbelfasttour, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi jane d

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit at the Crumlin Road Gaol. We really appreciate the great comments that you make and will ensure that the team are made aware of your feedback.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waringstown, N.Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Truly Amazing - A Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I saw an advert for the Crumlin Road Gaol tours and decided to book for a friend an myself. The online reservation system is a major disappointment in two respects. I cannot understand how today with the technology that is available, that the server used is not secure. Secondly, the confirmation email that I received confirmed a tour for 0900 on 19 November 2012. I made the booking on 21st January 2013! Concerned, I called the Welcome Centre the following morning and was immediately told that due to a glitch, everyone is sent an email confirming what was the first tour of the current series of tours. It is inexcusable that this problem has not been rectified in a 3 month period.

Gripe over. The positives blown the negatives out of the water! Crumlin Road Gaol is as good a visitor attraction as I have visited anywhere, without exception. Never having been there before, I expected to be be brought around a wreck of a place that was run-down. I could not have been more mistaken!

We were in a group of about 20 people and were met by our guide, Roy, who really made the tour special. It was really humbling to walk around the various parts of the complex, to see the photographs of inmates and realise that it was factual. Those parts of the gaol that are part of the tours have been restored to give a really good impression of how it was when in use. I intentionally do not want to describe details of the tour, and I would spoil the enjoyment of future visitors.

My initial criticism is meant to be entirely constructive. The Crum is so special that anything that makes it difficult to book a tour must be fixed. A few weeks ago I visited the new Titanic Building and it was superb. But it was purpose built, and does not have the genuine bricks and mortar and history from dating 1854 of the Crum. It is World class and I'm looking forward to returning soon!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestbelfasttour, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi BUP42

Thanks for taking the time to review your experiences of Crumlin Road Gaol. I was disappointed to hear of the problems you encountered while trying to book the tour but these issues have now been fixed.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the tour and would recommend a visit to the gaol. I will ensure that Roy and the rest of the team are made aware of your feedback.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The minute i entered the building i met the most nicest reception who explained me about this place and really cheery... Really nice to veel welcome ... My guide i forgot her name was really good and polite ..she knows what she was talking about .. This is must seen place thou it was not as big as Auswitch or Port McArthur in Tassie but this place deffi has his own charm , i cant stop crying when we reached the hanging place -:( .. And for sure i would recommend this place to people who likes history and what happend in the past ... Cheers

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestbelfasttour, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi Ephie L

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to the Crumlin Road Gaol. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the tour and that you can compare it to places such as Auswitch or Port McArthur.
I will ensure that your comments are passed on to our staff who always welcome the feedback.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A must to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Passed it on the open top bus and its a big part of the history of Belfast so a must to see.
It's hard to believe the history that is behind it.
As I said, a must to see to understand the history

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestbelfasttour, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Barbara C

Thank you for taking the time to review the Crumlin Road Gaol. You are quite right about the CitySightseeing Belfast buses pass the gaol every 30 minutes and you can hop off to visit the gaol and catch the bus after your tour.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crumlin Road Gaol also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Crumlin Road Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crumlin Road Gaol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.