We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the fish restaurant for lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Michael Deane

Restaurant Michael Deane
36-40 Howard Street, Belfast BT16 1YR, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)
(028) 9033 1134
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #278 of 783 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Golden Mile
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Try the fish restaurant for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A quick lunch on a Thursday and the place was packed, we had one course - which suits a modern lifestyle and time pressures - perfect.
We decided against the £6:50 lunch - which must be fantastic value and had something off the main menu.
My wife had curried duck - wot no fish! Well there are options and it looked and tasted delicious.
I had a fish cake and chips which does not do it justice, it was brilliant and perfect for what I wanted.We also had Simon Callow who was performiong in the Lyric Theatre having a light fish lunch too.
Famous company bnot guaranteed but good quality food is!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    27
    23
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Had a memorable Friday afternoon long lunch. After a drink of the house ale we sat down . The starters were very tempting .I went for the fried mixed fish which when it came out was like a main course with all sorts of squid and prawn and white dish with chillt & mayo dips. Very filling. For the main some guys went for the fish of the day on the blackboard and some went for the traditional fish and chips . Everyone enjoyed the mains .A lovely cheese board rounded everything off and excellent coffee. Lots of lovely wine too .The service was exceptional and all in all it was a brilliant afternoon lunch .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Food excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Everything is very good, the atmosphere, layout even the toilets! But food is 5 star. My only gripe is the service is slightly below what one would expect at these prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tasting Menu should be the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We are big fans of tasting menus in all the restaurants we visit as on the whole they give a showcase of the best the restaurant has to offer. Sadly, it really saddens me to write, the tasting menu at Deanes is very mediocre.

We arrived tonight & got the menus, the tasting menu only shows the main ingredient on each course & read as follows, Scallop, Foie Gras, Bass, Beef, Dessert, Cheese. It looked good & was priced at £55 + £30 for wines which we both went for.

I must add that we eat regularly at Deanes various restaurants are are big fans. However when our Scallop first taster arrived, it was just the scallop off the Seafood bar menu that we have eaten 20 times or more, we expected something different so were very disappointed

Sadly, the Foie Gras second taste was again what you can order on the lunch menu so again no surprise & disappointing

The Bass with Japanese mushroom was beautiful & it rejuvenated us both into thinking this might be worthwhile. Sadly when the beef came out, we were thrown back into the mediocre.Although the beef was cooked to perfection, the rest of the dish was poor, underseasoned & tasteless, 2 types of mushroom duxelle when the dish cried out for a potato

The dessert was the stand out dish of the meal, a beautiful chocolate mousse with coconut sorbet, gorgeous. The last course was cheese. We had a good mix of Irish & French cheese but unfortunately served with normal shop bought crackers that weren't really good enough for home never mind a top restaurant. A very sad addition to a wanna be top nosh tasting menu. When you can serve bread as good as the ones we were served before our courses why can you not bake a homemade cracker??

Overall, we left after paying £215 for 2 people feeling underwhelmed. On the plus side, whoever matches the wines with the food really knows their stuff but sadly 5 out of 10 overall, the food let the wine down. I don't think this tasting menu shows really what Michael Deane has to offer, it's a lazy menu

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked because this was listed as a Michelin starred restaurant, realising now the star was lost that explains everything. Front of house were good apart from not passing on previously advised dietary requirements to chefs. Head chef and sous chef ( I think) worked all night, 2 other chefs leaned against kitchen equipment got most of our visit , one of them constantly on his mobile phone. If you're going to have your kitchen on view try to look more efficient. Clearly stronger management required

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Michael Deane also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Restaurant Michael Deane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Michael Deane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.