We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best I've had!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Warehouse - CLOSED

Nick's Warehouse
35-39 Hill Street | Cathedral Quarter, Belfast BT1 2LB, Northern Ireland
02890439690
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $27 - $34
Cuisines: Irish, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Award winning restaurant in the heart of Belfast's cultural district 'The Cathedral Quarter'. Celebrity chef Nick Price opened Nick's in 1989 and is still behind the stove today. Sourcing the best local produce from around the province, Nicks established itself as the doyenne of modern restaurants in Northern Ireland.
1 review
“One of the best I've had!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Since hearing about the proposed closure of Nicks warehouse due on the 06/07/13, the missus & I thought we'd pay the restaurant a visit on tuesday the 18/06/13 to see what all the fuss was about first hand; I can truly say I am really glad we did, from the the outside the restaurant looked charming & welcoming but, from the inside it was quite exquisite. What can I say about the meal as I'm still smiling thinking about it writing this review, the meal as whole was absolutely gorgeous, the crostini of smoked rare beef, beetroot purée & orange chutney starter was totally delightful; the dry aged sirloin & chargrilled rump steaks were both splendid; both desserts the trio of glastry farm ice cream & the passion fruit pannacotta were divine. The serving staff were warm, friendly & attentive, I'm glad I got to try this restaurant before it closes but, I must say we are both saddened & disappointed the restaurant won't be staying in business longer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    79
    45
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Such a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Looking for somewhere last minute to eat on a weekend break in Belfast, and my what a great find to stumble upon Nick's Warehouse! The food, although perhaps a little pricey at first, was top quality. The beef in particular served with orange chutney and beetroot as a starter was so tasty. We will be going back on our next trip!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Tasty 2 course lunch for £9.95”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had a very tasty lunch here on a wet Tuesday. Goats cheese, beetroot and hazelnut salad was a real hit and mussels in white wine sauce were "delicious" according to the other half. The mains of Lamb madras and Chorizo & seafood stew were both excellent. Terrific value for £9.95. A great strong cup of Coffee topped it all off.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“OVERPRICED & NOTHING SPECIAL”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

13 of us reserved a table upstairs, waiter was bit clumsy and disinterested. Good choice of food but overpriced esp. with the 10% service charge due to parties of 5 or more ( is that standard for such a small no. of people?) Food came down which looked beautiful on the plate but very meagre amounts, a side order of mushy peas and wedges for a table of 13, you could only take one wedge & teaspoonful of peas if you were lucky, dessert too was very expensive & bland i.e. cheesecake. The tin cap on it was that after we had paid over £600 for our food we were told politely to leave our table and make our way to the bar if we wished as we could only occupy the table for a max of 2hrs. Wouldn't go back or recommend to friends, on the plus side I was having a bit of a session afterwards so there was plenty of space in my system for a few extra pints......

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Was really looking forward to this restaurant but this has to be one of the worst meals I had in a long time. The staff were great but the food poor, had seabass which I actually thought it was off- my partner said the same of the prawns. Maybe we hit a bad night or the usual chef was on holidays we left hungry and very disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Warehouse also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Warehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.