We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Liquor Saloon

The Crown Liquor Saloon
46 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BA, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)
028 9024 3187
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 777 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Golden Mile
Description: You will find The Crown Liquor Saloon in Belfast within a short stroll of Europa Hotel, Grosvenor Road and Glengall Street - however, you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its heartily classic pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous Irish hospitality.The Crown Liquor Saloon is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

A very welcoming pub with good food and service, at very reasonable prices. Will defiantly recommend and return

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    377
    127
    64
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced, understaffed and precocious.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Massively overpriced drinks served by staff who are completely unaware of the concept of customer service. We waited for a very long time at an off peak time for service, despite standing at the counter. And it smelled very strange. Vile in fact.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Top Contributor
460 reviews 460 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
523 helpful votes 523 helpful votes
“Everybody who travels to Belfast should visit the Crown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

It's owned by the National Trust and it's a gem. It feels like your going back in time when you go through their doors. Have been here several times but it was always packed but when I went yesterday it was very quiet and I enjoyed my visit. There's about 10 snugs in the bar and 1 was free, so I actually got inside one for the first time.

The barman was a bit of a character and had time to chat to me as he wasn't run off his feet. When I asked him if the "flag protest" was the reason of all the empty stools he told me that they are actually busier now than this time last year [something I was told several times yesterday]

Unfortunately I couldn't stay long as I had a train to catch, so I took a few snaps and said my goodbyes to my new friend and reluctantly left. Of all the Belfast bars I have ben in [trust me, that's a lot] this one is head and shoulders above them all. As one reviewer said, even if you don't have a drink here make sure you walk through it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The oldest pub....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a must for anyone visiting Belfast.
There are booths with doors on that my partner said after 10 mins felt like he was sitting in a potting shed lol.
The old tiles in this pub are a must to see, and well worth a visit

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We popped in the the Crown bar on our way to the airport. Had a fantastic meal! And the service was great.
The bar was beautiful and the little booths were so nice. Felt as though you could have a nice intimate drink with friends.
Definitely worth going to!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Liquor Saloon also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Crown Liquor Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Liquor Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.