We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Merchant Hotel to your Saves list
Merchant Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DY, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First class hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I were married here in march. I only had a month to plan the wedding as my husband works away, so I had a lot to organise. I needn't have worried because as soon as I met with one of the events organisers (Clare Coyle) she went over everything with me very clearly and put me at ease. She gave me some advise on lowering the price as she told me to order the evening buffet for only 50 percent of the guests as it would be more than enough due to the quantity of food and the selection of sandwiches. I thought that was very nice of her, it proved she cared about the customer and not just making profit for the hotel. Turns out the buffet was more than enough. I met with her a few times in the run up to the wedding, each time she was lovely and very helpful. The big day was the Friday in march that we all of a sudden had some heavy snowfall. I panicked as I was worried about ruining my dress on the way to the wedding car and into the hotel, I needn't have worried, Clare organised a large room for me to get ready in, so I went down on the morning of the wedding and got ready there. Clare came up to the room before the ceremony to wish me luck. the ceremony room was beautiful and nicely lit. The room where the guests wait whilst the pictures were being taken was really nice to. The way they set the room up for dinner was stunning, I could not fault it. The food was excellent and the portions size was good. Our guests all commented on how nice the food was. There was a few minor mix up with our children's meals and some of the guests children's meals, they also cut up two and a half tiers of our wedding cake which i felt was far too much. So I brought it up with the staff the following day and my husband and I were apologised to and offered a complimentary meal at a later date. The room we stayed in was beautiful, it is worthy of its 5* rating and the breakfast the following day was beautiful. I've stayed in quite a few 5* hotels both here and abroad and of all that I've stayed in this is one of my favourites, it just hast a lovely atmosphere about it. Will definatly be back and would recommend it to anyone. I cannot praise Clare enough, she's brilliant at her job and a real asset to the hotel. If any of the managers happen to read this...GIVE HER A RAISE :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,234
    193
    88
    62
    41
See reviews for
157
911
30
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

From the beautiful dining room to our Art Deco bedroom everything about this hotel was fantastic .Our bathroom was a beauty .We were met on arrival by the so efficient and kind Micheal who quickly gave us the low down on places to see in Belfast. Our open top bus tour was kindly organised by the porters.
There is a great buzz about this hotel. Right in the heart of Belfast it is both lively and peaceful at the same time.Plenty of bars and shop in the vicinity.
Everyone was so kind and helpful and in stark contrast to what we regularly see on our TV screens.
I won't leave it another 45 years before my next visit!!

Room Tip: Try an Art Deco bedroom. Don't miss a visit to the most amazing dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I recently attended a wedding reception here which began on the roof terrace and continued in a function room on another floor.

The roof terrace is lovely, especially on a warm summers day.

We were served a four course meal which was very well presented and very filling indeed. It was extremely tasty and the service was also excellent.

The function room was very nicely decorated, with really nice mood lighting and table centres.

Overall, a great location for a wedding. The service levels are excellent, as is the quality of everything in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed at the Merchant for a couple nights recently. We received a friendly reception, were given a nice room and enjoyed our stay. The location in town is great. Service friendly and efficient. Breakfast in the restaurant tasty with many choices and great service. Room was clean and well furnished. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had my first visit to this hotel....it wont be my last. Beautiful Victorian building with super modern art deco part. Great hall for breakfast is and old banking hall, really amazing. Stayed in a fourth floor room with two extremely comfortable double beds, fabulous toppers on bed, really soft down pillows and crisp sheets. Free standing bath, huge shower with rose head. Two tvs in room and lovely furniture. My only minor disappointment was that there was no bottled water in the room and i was parched, when i phoned they said it is brought at turn down time, which it was, but had to buy bottle in bar for £4.95 to keep me going.visited gym& spa area looked very nice, especially as they are on roof top. Staff very helpful and friendly.great shopping only minutes away.

Room Tip: I really liked room 428 where I stayed, nice corner room on fourth floor, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were treated to a night at the Merchant for our 30th wedding anniversery. It was a fantastic experience from begining to end. We had a beautiful afernoon tea perfect food and service then the tasting menu which was delicious. Our suite was magnificent the breakfast was lovley. we will defenitley be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

As good if not better than any of the 5 star hotels I have stayed in and I have stayed in most of the top hotels. Good value and one of the best cocktail bars I have tried, very knowledgeable bar staff. Now stay here every time I visit Belfast, walking distance to city centre. Try the Spaniards Inn across the road excellent Guinness.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#3 Business Hotel in Belfast
#8 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.