We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with flawless service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merchant Hotel

Save Saved
You added Merchant Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DY, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 44 hotels in Belfast
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with flawless service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at the Merchant for business for two nights on November 11-13, 2012. I arranged a hotel transfer through the hotel and a driver was waiting as promised when I arrived. He was friendly and engaging.

The front desk staff person at check-in (around 10pm) was incredibly friendly and made me feel immediately welcome. She advised that in-room dining's menu would be much more limited shortly and if I wished to order I should do so soon.

Ciaran assisted with our luggage (my wife was with me) and upon learning that I had not had a proper pint of Guinness beer, went the extra step of attending at the bar adjacent to the Merchant but not connected to bring me up a pint. What incredible service!

It set the tone for consistent, superb and friendly service during our stay. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The included breakfast is superb and generous.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    994
    140
    67
    51
    34
See reviews for
133
751
26
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently for our wedding anniversary and it was truly a great experience from check in to check out. The room, staff, food and drinks were all of the highest standard and I would go back in a heart beat. I would also recommend the Spa which is also fantastic.

Room Tip: Victorian rooms would be my choice as they feel more luxurious than the more modern rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at the hotel as part of a birthday celebration. From arrival to departure the service was excellent. We left bags and car off around 1130 and headed off for some shopping. Got a call shortly afer 1pm to say room was ready even though official check in was much later. All the bars were very busy - it was a Saturday night and a great atmosphere - wonderful tall cocktails. Our room overlooked the street but we had no noise issues and room was pure luxury. Definitely worth every penny and be sure and enjoy a great breakfast followed by a relaxing time in the rooftop hot tub. Expensive yes but worth every penny.

Room Tip: older rooms may overlook side street with bars so check if this is a problem for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at the Merchant Hotel last week as a special treat for my girlfriend and the whole experience could not have been better!

On checking in I was greeted by a very friendly concierge who arranged to park my car nearby. Our room was very luxurious, we opted for the 'victorian room' which seemed to be full of antique like furniture, heavy draped curtains, and a very rich bathroom covered in a dark green marble and with a huge deep set bath and powerful shower. We visited the hydroptherapy pool on the rooftop which has views of most of Belfast, nothing nicer than sitting in a bubbling hot tub while it rains!

For our meal at nice we visited Bert's Jazz Bar which had a bustling atmosphere, dark walls, jazz music, and every table full gave it a great ambience for a meal and a few drinks. The meal itself was nice but is on the fancier side and some of the sauces and sides with the meal itself my girlfriend or I weren't particularly fussed on. After the meal we headed into the bar and played some snooker in the billiards room. Breakfast was outstanding in the Great Room with excellent service and top quality food on offer (I had pastries, fresh fruit, and then salmon and scrambled eggs for the cooked breakfast).

Worth mentioning that while checking in and checking out, I managed to bump into, one extremely well known Irish comedian, a world famous book author, and a very well known Belfast actor.. so keep your eyes open when you're staying here! Will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Booked this hotel on the strength, largely, of reviews on this site. Then wished I hadn't.
Love Belfast, but would give the Merchant a swerve next time. Over-rated, over-priced, a triumph of style over substance. You can get much better value elsewhere in the city.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moygashel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My new wife and I called in for afternoon tea one Saturday. Even though we hadn't booked the staff were delightful and managed to find us a table. The food and tea was top notch. There was another group in the room, who were having a renunion and didn't want to sit down as they didn't really know eachother which bothered us as they were all standing right behind us, but we didn't want to say anyting because they were so nice about it...but we didn't have to as when we went to pay the bill the staff apologised and gave us a discount.

Would really reccomend this experience and will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great hotel stayed for 1 week on business, everything was super and the cocktail bar was especially good! The Great room was simply that, great with wonderful food and atmosphere. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Belfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#6 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.