We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Merchant Hotel to your Saves list
Merchant Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DY, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just back from a superb stay at the Merchant Hotel. Lovely service throughout with beautiful room and excellent dinner followed by nightcap in the magnificent cocktail bar. Would highly recommend and we will return again soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    174
    78
    56
    39
See reviews for
146
843
29
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is amazing!! It is a mixture of modern and vintage design. The Victorian room is a good size with a huge bathroom(if you have stayed in europe you know those are rare). The staff is so helpful and kind to help you get where you need to go. Yes, you are paying a bit more but it is so worth it to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I and her sister and husband stayed for a two night wedding anniversary celebration. We had the most wonderful time enjoying the ambiance of the luxurious surroundings. We used the SPA, the rooftop leisure facilities, had cocktails in the bar and slept in big soft beds, fantastic.
Staff at breakfast were superb, with high levels of service and friendly attitudes, a great start to the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed for a treat! We were not disappointed in any way!! Our room was beautiful (Victorian room) very spacious and bathroom was huge!!
Concierge who showed us to our room could not have been any more friendly or helpful! Treatments in the spa were amazing and therapists very pleasant and the spa surroundings soooo relaxing!! Unfortunately the outdoor hottub was full when we tried to use it and was closed for essential maintainance the next morning, this did not make our stay any less enjoyable but gave us a perfect excuse to come back!!
Breakfast was also amazing!! Service was second to none!!
Turn down service in the evening left us truffles, bottled water and replaced all the towels we had used and replenished everything we used, exactly what you'd expect from a 5* hotel!
This was certainly a 5* experience and I will definately be back, well worth every penny spent!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

When it comes to value, I'm not so picky. I don't mind paying extra for sitting in a really posh room or old building even though the food or drink is of average quality. It adds a bit of fun and excitement now and again, but when it comes to service I am very picky. I find it rude and ignorant not to treat all paying guests the same no matter what type of establishment you run. While attending a formal business event at the Merchant Hotel, the bartender in the event informed us that all cocktails are made at the main bar and they would be happy to serve us but we would have to go upstairs to order. No problem. I understand limitations at certain events, but after landing in the cocktail bar, the manager proceeded to be so rude in asking us to leave. He couldn't even ask nicely. I've never been spoken to so poorly. Even after expaining we were sent there by one of the staff, he refused to serve us because they don't allow customers to stand to wait for their drinks?! What?! We were told to go to a 3rd bar in the hotel to order the drinks. At this 3rd bar, we sat for 10 minutes before anyone even arrived. The place was empty! After ordering two cocktails, the bartender left the bar, walked to the previous cocktail bar, made the drinks and then brought them back over to us...30 minutes later we had to carry our beverages then through the hotel, back through the cocktail bar that the drinks were made anyway and down to the events area. What ignorance! I've been to very trendy, pretentious, ritzy places before but never treated like I didn't belong. The manager at this place on the evening we were there should remember where he came from and that his job is service to the customer.

To say one nice thing about the place, Danny was the bartender at the event and he was very pleasant and even remembered my drink when I went back for a second time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for our anniversary. The service is fantastic with a nice personal touch. Staff all knew our name and were really friendly and professional. The room was absolutely beautiful and completely luxurious and nothing was too much trouble. We dined in the great room and again service was amazing and the food was fantastic. Not a cheap hotel but you get what you pay for :-) would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We visited the Merchant for dinner, B&B as a special birthday treat for my husband. We found the accommodation to be luxurious yet unpretentious and the staff were all friendly and professional.

The resident's menu offered plenty to choose from and it was great to have vegetables that weren't overcooked. Breakfast was equally delicious and beautifully presented.

The only downside was the 10% service charge - even in the bar! We'd expect this in the restaurant but not for a cocktail.

Despite this we'd stay again but would have to save it for our next special occasion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Business Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#7 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.