We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Belfast Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Merchant Hotel to your Saves list
Merchant Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DY, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A Belfast Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

What a great place to stay in the city center. The Merchant hotel is one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed at. From the moment I arrived until the moment I checked out I was impressed. The afternoon tea is a must. The staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you.
I will return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    193
    88
    62
    41
See reviews for
158
911
30
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Didnt stay overnight but we did have drinks, dinner in the Great Room and breakfast next day and it was absolutely incredible. Wonderful decor, furnishings and ambiance supported by a remarkable staff from the concierge team (dressed in Naval Officer attire and remarkable handsome!!) through to Joseph in the Great Room and the very very engaging lad from Co Monaghan in Berts bar....

We will be recommeding highly to all of our friends and will definitely return (even without a valid excuse / reason) for a stayover.

One of the best that I've experienced anywhere...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My mum,sister ,daughter and went to the merchant on16/04/12 for afternoon tea to celebrate my 40th birthday,unfortunetly my mum became very ill and suffered a mini stroke.I cannot give enough thanks and credit to the staff for the discreet and professional service in which was a very upsetting time,there were a fantastic and i cannot praise them enough.I look forward to returning when my mum has recovered

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

So delighted to have finally found an hotel that not only lives up to the hype but goes and exceeds expectations. My family and I travelled to Belfast last Thursday and booked a lovely Art Deco room for the night. The moment we arrived we were greeting by exceedingly friendly staff, personable but not intrusive(the real mark of 5* service) and the decor is sublime. Our room (230) was very spacious and well appointed with lovely bathroom and beautifully decorated throughout. The attentition to detail is everywhere and the welcome packs for the kids was a lovely touch. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but have vowed to return soon to make the most of the facilities - perhaps a romantic break rather than a family trip to the Titanic museum! Breakfast was really good and The Great Room Restaurant is simply stunning. It's great to know that there's a top class gem only a little over an hour and a half away and we're planning our return already.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Our 2nd stay at the Merchant,and once again we were not disappointed.We splurged and had the hotel's Phantom Rolls Royce meet us at the airport,and that set the standard for our 2 night stay.
From check in to check out the service is attentive but very friendly.We had one of the deco rooms on the 4th floor which was huge with the best bathroom ever,wet room and double bath!
Meals in the Great room restaurant are an experience,the restaurant was the main banking hall as the hotel was once the Ulster bank before being converted into a luxury hotel.Great gym on the top floor with an outdoor hot tub overlooking the Belfast skyline.
Belfast is a most friendly city to visit and for us the Merchant is the only hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Deco rooms are lighter than the Victorian rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Merchant Hotel for 2 nights in March and would highly recommend it. We were in Room 222, an Art Deco room with a very comfy king bed, lux linens, roomy sitting area, huge wardrobe area with separate make-up mirror and a gorgeous bathroom with a large walk-in shower and soaking tub. We enjoyed the Hollywood chic decor and vintage photos. It had every amenity and was quiet and very restful. The staff was very helpful, friendly and accommodating. They booked a taxi tour for us, helped us with directions and when I left a personal item in the taxi by mistake it was quickly tracked down and returned to me. The breakfasts in the gorgeous Great Room Restaurant were wonderful. We also enjoyed a glass of wine in The Bar and played pool in the billiards room. The location of the hotel was perfect, so close to fantastic restaurants and many sights. We had great dinners at Nick's Warehouse and The Potted Hen and would recommend them too. We had a fantastic stay at the Merchant Hotel and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Our Art Deco room was very roomy and quiet - Room 222.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We have visited the Merchant several times and have enjoyed our stay on each occasion. The location is great, within reach of most of Belfast's attractions.

We have only stayed in the Victorian rooms and have not experienced the newer Art Deco rooms yet. The Victorian rooms are nicely decorated, though they are not necessarily very big rooms. They are actually poorly lit, which makes reading very difficult. Be warned that you may experience noise problems either from the Spaniard pub nearby or from the nightclub. Make sure you have earplugs, which may be supplied in your room.

The staff have always been very friendly and efficient, and very eager to help, so absolutely no complaints there.

One of the best things about the hotel is the wonderful Great Room the dining room with its fantastic ceiling and sculptures. Afternoon teas are very nice, though to be honest, the evening food is not really 5 star quality. The bar in the older part of the hotel is also very nice and comfortable. It has apparently been voted best hotel bar in the world, though it is pricey.

At first, the £15 daily parking charge seems steep, but you will pay that in other city centre hotels anyway (if not more) and you do get valet parking.

Overall, the Merchant is a top class hotel. It is expensive, but you do get what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you are not supplied with earplugs, make sure you get them, as there can be noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#3 Business Hotel in Belfast
#8 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.