We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Malmaison to your Saves list
Malmaison
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 - 38 Victoria St, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overall, very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent a Friday and Saturday night here last month to celebrate my fiancé's birthday. Splashed out and booked a superior room with a total cost of £306.00 for bed and breakfast. Arrived and checked in with no problems with a friendly and helpful receptionist. Got to the room and everything was fine...the only issue being the darkness for anyone trying to do makeup etc. A light over the mirror could easily sort this out.
Anyway, went down for a few cocktails and some bar snacks. These were tasty but all quite pricy so the cost quickly adds up after a few hours in the bar.
After that we went back to the room to go to bed. Tried to sleep but unfortunately our room had a door adjoining the next room. Whilst we didn't have a problem with the door being there, it was not properly soundproofed. In fact we could hear every single word that was being said by the guests next door (even though they weren't being in any way loud). So that alone unfortunately kept both of us awake late into the night (even after 4 cocktails each). I also found the pillows of poor quality for a hotel.

So, the next morning we went to reception and without causing any fuss, asked for a new room. This was quickly organised and a few hours later we were shown to our new room. The new room was much smaller not being a superior room which I was disappointed in. I assume they had no superior rooms available. Other than that the room was fine and we both had a much better nights sleep. I was a bit disturbed by a big brown stain on the sheets though which made me feel a bit paranoid not known if it was what I though it was. At this stage I couldn't have been bothered complaining and just sucked it up.

Checked out the following morning and we were charged for two nights in a superior room so we informed the receptionist that it was not a superior room the second night. She reduced the second nights rate by £20.00 to the regular room rate (I assume this was correct but never actually checked). She made a comment that she would put a note beside my name saying that i don't like adjoining rooms. I found that comment slightly rude, belittling our complaint (maybe she was trying to be helpful, I couldn't quite tell).

To summarise, I spent around £500.00 over the weekend in the hotel between the room, food and drinks over the two nights. I left feeling £500 poorer with no good memories to make it feel worth while. Actually feeling a little unappreciated for my custom. I spend a lot of time in hotels and find that a mid range hotel such as a premier inn is usually consistent and you leave feeling like you have got good value for money.

There, rant over.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    291
    144
    68
    48
See reviews for
39
446
32
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed one night for dinner b and b. Had a lovely meal in the brasserie. Very nice staff in all departments. Comfortable bed. Close to Cathedral quarter, good bars etc. Didnt Notice any noise at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night over Easter and was really impressed. The hotel has a nice feel about it and the lobby is welcoming and comfortable. The check in staff were really pleasant. The room itself was really nice. There were a couple of things that could have been better - the bed was rock hard and I agree with other reviews that the lighting in the bathroom isn't great for doing make up! Both small issues really. The hotel is in a great location in the centre of Belfast and I will definitley stay again. I didn't have the breakfast, so can't comment on that. But did order a late night snack on room service and thought it was very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Due to the bad weather cancelling our trip to London we decided to go all out and book a superior twin for two nights. On arrival the ladies at reception were very engaging and helpful. Despite the power cuts across the city we got sorted with our room. Very big room and reasonably priced for a 4star hotel in a capital city. Was quite a gothic design which suited our style. The shower was powerful could have stood in it all day. Food was a tad expensive but again the quality was top notch. The waitresses were very friendly and took time to have conversation. The breakfast was disappointing though. For the cost there could have been a greater selection from the buffet and more pieces from the grill. Apart from that very good

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The city centre location is great, the rooms are good but street noise is prevalent. I ordered a fillet steak dinner for 37 pounds expecting a quality meal but received a tough steak more akin to a cheap chain pub, I did complain and the server removed approx 6 off the bill which didn't really compensate.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked an overnight stay here in December as we were going to a concert at the Odyssey. The lady on reception was very pleasant and offered us an upgrade - first time ever! The room however was disappointing as was very dark and gloomy and overlooked a courtyard between office blocks. The bathroom was small and the complimentary toiletries looked shabby and worn. The tea/coffee making facilities were good though one small packet of biscuits between two is a bit mean, we could have had the Tayto crisps on the table but if memory serves me right they cost £2 which is ludicrous. Dinner was part of the package and the set menu was limited which is to be expected in most hotels although the food was tasty and well served by the friendly waitress. However the restaurant was almost empty and she had initially seated us at a table facing right into the kitchen but credit due, when we asked to be moved she was more than happy to oblige. We slept well, the room was quiet and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was a bit of a disaster with two young waiters not really on top of the situation, we waited ages for coffee and when it came it had not been filtered correctly so had to be replaced - another wait. We had the buffet breakfast which was pretty standard but overheard other guests complaining about the wait for the cooked breakfasts so glad we missed that. There didn't seem to be any senior staff in charge. Checkout was slowed down by the printer at reception not working but that can happen to anyone and the receptionist was very friendly and pleasant during it all. Overall this hotel is fine for an overnight stay but is a bit characterless even though it is trying very hard to come over as atmospheric and gothic. Staff are pleasant enough but I feel they are badly let down by poor management and a general lack of anyone in charge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I'm a big fan of Malmaison and have stayed in many of their hotels over the years. The Belfast hotel met the high standard that I have come to expect over the years. Staff were exceptionally helpful, the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly and food good in the restaurant.

My room was clean and comfortable with an ensuite bath as well as shower. I had heard that parking can be a pain in Belfast but I was able to park right outside with no bother

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Address: 34 - 38 Victoria St, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Malmaison 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.