We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slim's Kitchen

Slim's Kitchen
429-431 Lisburn Road, Belfast BT9 7EY, Northern Ireland
028 9508 8011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #290 of 783 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A new experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I visited slims with 7 friends whilst visiting Belfast. The idea is fantastic and the food to match. Id personally prefer a larger variety of drinks but the shakes and juices were nice all the same.
We only had a little issue wherby our order was confused however this was simply retified. Overall it was nice to go somewhere totally different

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    44
    33
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Very Good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Three of us had lunch in SHK. It was very good and well worth the 15 minute wait for a table, but it was Saturday lunchtime so no complaints. I had the Thai Green Curry with prawns, which was good. My wife had the chicken teriyaki and the best sweet potato chips. Our chum had the chicken burger on flatbread, again a good result. Afterwards we had excellent coffee and carrot cake. We were asked if we wanted a 'top up' for our coffee, which my wife accepted. I was a tad surprised to find it reflected on the bill as another Americano coffee! I tried the peanut butter frozen yogurt and found it bland and a bit gritty. The tiny shot of strawberry sorbet was proper lush, as Tom Kerridge would say. All in all a nice cafe, which we will return to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

There was nothing wrong with our meal at slims. It was dinner time and we were hungry-ish, and there was a variety of meat and fish. But... It was EXACTLY the sort of meal I would make at home (if I was feeling particularly lazy!) Yes, there is nothing to actually complain about a grilled chicken breast on a piece of nice bread - it was absolutely fine. But that was it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would like to see more of it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Who can be bothered cooking every night?

Sometime you want to go out and not feel like rubbish after.

Not painfully healthy to have chicken and chips but the best version of iris always a winner.

The staff seemed to be lovely as well


Keep it up :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent early evening meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I popped into SHK after work intrigued after everyone talking about it, and I wasn't disappointed by the meal I had.

The superfood salad was delicious and the chargrilled chicken was great. It didn't look like much on the plate but it left me satisfied without being 'over-full'. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slim's Kitchen also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Slim's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slim's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.