We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SS Nomadic

SS Nomadic
Hamilton Dock | Queens Island, Belfast, Belfast BT3 9DM, Northern Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 122 Attractions in Belfast
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The SS Nomadic is known as Titanic's little sister. Built at the same time, by the same people, in the same Harland and Wolff shipyard as Titanic, Nomadic brought those boarding the great liner at Cherbourg to the ship. That was the start of an adventurous life, as she played a part in WW One and Two, carried many famous people to the great trans-Atlantic liners, became a floating restaurant in Paris and was saved from being scrapped by the people of Belfast.Now completely refurbished as a visitor attraction, you can walk in the footsteps of history, learn her story, and become part of the new chapter of her dramatic existence.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent over 2 hours on Titanic's little sister. Beautifully restored and like taking a step back in history. The guides are really enthusiastic and passionate about the Nomadic. If you visit Belfast, don't miss this!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    68
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Closer to History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Despite a rather damp day in Belfast, I had a wonderful walk around the S.S. Nomadic with my daughter and a friend. We enjoyed the information provided by the friendly, knowledgable guides, a rather interesting barman and the picture boards. My daughter particularly enjoyed the dressing up opportunities. I felt closer to passengers on the Titanic when I found out that some of the seating is original - my posterior could have rested on the same bench that supported Molly Brown as she was ferried out to the Titanic at Cherbourg!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Piece of History!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We visited the Nomadic in Belfast in August 2013. This is an unbelievable link with the Titanic and Belfasts shipbuilding past. Its packed with information, is a beautiful restoration, and has cool features like period dress up clothes for the kids. You cannot walk this ship and feel moved again by the whole Titanic story. Amazing!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Learning about SS Nomadic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I've never heard about Nomadic until I look for things to do during my stay in Belfast. My friend and I were really surprised with the idea of visiting a ship built at the same time as Titanic. Learning about the history of the ship during the tour was amazing and the guide was very kind and answered all the questions we made. It was awesome!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Returned to Belfast this year specifically to visit Nomadic and it has been worth the wait.To be able to see what it was like all those years ago and with it being an actual link with Titanic.They have thought of everything on board with so many pieces of information and interactive videos from Nomadic's staff.Haven't been able to stop praising it up to everyone who will listen since we got home,would definately recommend a visit when in Belfast.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SS Nomadic also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to SS Nomadic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SS Nomadic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.