We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still adding that 10% service charge to an average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Deane and Decano

Deane and Decano
537A Lisburn Road, Belfast BT9 7QG, Northern Ireland
028 9066 3108
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #351 of 783 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Still adding that 10% service charge to an average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

called in for an early dinner on Friday evening. Place wasn't that busy and got a table with no problems.

Service was friendly but seemed disorganised. Most places very obviously have staff working specific tables helping to achieve personalised service. Not so here, staff just wondered about and did whenever needed doing. As previous reviewers commented it was quite difficult to catch their attention for more drinks etc.

Menu limited but with nice specials. Food arrived at reasonable pace and was tasty but not memorable, nice but not fantastic.

Dinner for 2 was £70 and again they had real cheek adding a 10% service charge. Even worse the waitress taking payment entered the tip into the card machine and continued to the pin screen without even asking if I wanted to pay the charge.

I'm quite happy to pay for good service and good food - but it's my choice as the customer to do so, and for 10% I expect far better service and food than I got.

There are an ever increasing number of really excellent places to eat in Belfast at very reasonable prices. Dean and Decano really need to up their game both with service, food and price.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    25
    19
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Dined here with friends.... Disappointed , average menu and food bland, risotto very salty, obviously heated in microwave, ricotta tasteless, lacked atmosphere overall .

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Won't be rushing back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Table at window very uncomfortable chairs, waitress only started working there but was helpful. Menu limited our food fine but not special was expensive. We had booked table for 8oclock and at 10oclock felt we were rushed to leave. Adding service charge of £12 for the 4 of us is not acceptable as we were rushed and not made to feel welcome average food and sore back next day from bad seating so won't be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simple and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very good food, the basic Italian menu done well. The Italian tapas was a little dull but the food improved with the courses. Could have done with more vegetables, I'm never a fan of charging more for veg. But good atmosphere and extremely good puddings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced, Leveraging the Deane's Brand”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My wife and I had a meal, with two friends, in Deane and Decano on Friday. We were disappointed to say the least. We found the food and the drinks overpriced and the service underwhelming.

Given the prominent advertisements on the specials board for 'Prosecco Fridays’ we ordered a second bottle of Prosecco after we had finished our first. We were very surprised to see that only the first bottle of Prosecco was on offer at the advertised £19.50. We felt this was very misleading and were very disappointed to see that our second bottle of Prosecco wasn’t at the advertised rate of £19.50, but at a higher rate of £25.00.

We would be more than happy to pay £25.00 for a bottle of Prosecco and, really, £5.50 isn’t a great deal, but this felt like very misleading advertising and a little underhand.

Of more concern was the slowness of the service. Whilst all of the waiting staff were very courteous and polite, and a credit to Deane’s, there simply weren’t enough of them to really pay attention to the diners. An attentive waiter or waitress always keeps an eye on the tables they are serving, checking in from time to time, ensuring their guests are happy. Not so here.

On many occasions we tried to discretely catch someone’s eye to see if we could order more drinks and, I’m afraid, towards the end ended up waving our arms shamelessly in the air in an effort to be spotted. This was very disappointing and was made only worse when we saw that a 10% tip - ~£20 - was automatically added to our bill.

As someone who has spent a past life working as a waiter I know how important tips are and I always tip generously. A tip must be earned, however.

If you're visiting Belfast, eat out in town, in the Cathedral Quarter or near the City Hall. The centre of Belfast is thriving and there is a hunger (pardon the pun) in the city to deliver wonderful experiences to visitors and locals alike. Deane and Decano feels like one more cog in a rapidly growing Deane's empire which seems geared more towards making money than delighting customers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deane and Decano also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Deane and Decano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deane and Decano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.