We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never got to ox” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ox

Ox
1 Oxford Street, Belfast BT1 3LA, Northern Ireland
+44(0)28 9031 4121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 778 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“never got to ox”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I booked ox two weeks ago for seven people on a Saturday night, the guy took my reservation. However two days later he phoned to say, he had infact made a mistake and that they were fully booked. I find this very strange, that you cannot see your booking system, what is even more suprising is that he make no effort to offer us alternative dates. He did apologise but what a lost opportunity. However having read the recent reviews which are slating and very daming about the service and the food I am relieved. Howcan you go from rave rewiews to citicism so quickly. The customer service is certainly not impressived.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    26
    23
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Punching above there weight”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

All I can say is awful service, overpriced food , and be prepered to wait a long time ruined my anniversary thanks
Go to Burger King at least you know what your getting for your money

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubcakes
1 review
“Best dining experience ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have eaten in many restaurant around the world including Michelin Stared and have always thought about writing a nice review but have never actually taken the time to do so but after dining at OX I just had to share my experience.
We booked in on a Wednesday night and the restaurant was full, the atmosphere was fantastic, that fantastic we ended up sitting there for almost 5 hrs and still didn't want to leave. The room itself is beautiful as is the view from it. We went for the tasting menu of 5 courses and every mouthful was just perfect. We really had a hard time deciding on our favourite course but the John Dory with razor clams and ham hock was to die for. The wine was beautiful and very reasonably priced. We had a carafe of Viognier and a btl of the nicest Rioja I have ever had (can't recall the name but at £40 it was an absolute steal). After the tasting menu we decided to share a cheese board, we were comfortably full but when we seen one arrive at the table beside us we could not resist and we were glad we did, it was so good. The staff were excellent, very friendly and obviously very passionate about OX. Cannot wait to go back, only problem is we are having trouble getting a table as it appears they are pretty much fully booked for the next 3 weeks but I would highly, highly recommend if you can get a reservation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A cleverly conceived dining room provides both intimacy and atmosphere, whilst remaining estranged from the cliche ridden norm that is Belfast's recent array of Americana themed openings. Slick front of house are knowledgable and confident in every aspect of both wine and food menus whilst providing a discreet, informal experience for the diner.
The tasting menu begins with Salt baked beetroot, Lough Neagh eel, oyster and squid ink. Earthy and unctuous, the level of skill is evident from the off. A salady rendition of Black radish, milk curd and onion gallete demonstrates a balance of flavour and texture rarely seen outside of two-three star kitchens.
Spanking fresh John Dory was followed by an amazing concoction of Foie Gras, Sweetbreads, Pearl Barley and Carrots from nearby Comber.The dessert of whiskey jelly with roasted apple and lavender foam gives a nod to classical pairings whilst an accompaniment of hidden sorbet reveals humour in the composition.
Overall a tremendously ambitious effort from a newcomer, which fortunately turns out to be right on the mark. An excellent restaurant, serving local produce with understated flair and casual finesse. Recommended. Worth a detour.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sadly Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Was really looking forward to dining here. But to be honest Never Again! The restaurant had 12 people in at the time we arrived, but yet we were told that they were very busy so we would have to wait before they could take our order, it took 45 minutes before we were served our starters, after that it was another 40 minutes before we got our mains. We had to ask 3 times before we received glasses of water. At no point did any member of the staff come to us to explain or apologise for the delay! For what professes to be a Fine Dining Venue we thought this to be totally unacceptable, particularly as there is only a choice of 6 starters and mains and NO choice of sides! Which to be honest the dishes needed.
Sorry guy's but as the New Kid on the Block, you have a lot of work to do.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ox also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.