We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and excellent value for money - try it you wont be disappointed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shed

Shed
467 Ormeau Road, Belfast BT7 3GR, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9064 2630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 811 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $36
Cuisines: Irish, European
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Belfast
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food and excellent value for money - try it you wont be disappointed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had a delicious sunday lunch, first confit of duck followed by superb roast lamb, creme brulee and fresh plum compote. The quality of the food first class with the chef preparing it in view of customers so I could see the various dishes they all looked amazing. The menu offers an excellent choice.The service friendly and very efficient there were lots of regular customers - happy atmospher. Will be back this week cant wait.Yum!
Yum

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eithne B, Owner at Shed, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and review. We really appreciate you taking the time to send your feedback, including a wonderful recommendation! Fantastic food, value for money, service quality and a happy atmosphere are all key parts of the Shed Experience and we are glad you enjoyed your meal and time with us. The open plan kitchen is a feature you mention which many people really enjoy. Watching Gilles, Gareth and the chefs at work is a real treat, and many make their menu choices by watching the gantry as well as viewing the menu! Thank you again, and we will see you soon back at Shed. Eithne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    48
    17
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent addition to Ormeau Road nightlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Went to Shed on Belfast's Ormeau Road on Saturday night and found it to be very enjoyable, with a great atmosphere, very but not overly, attentive staff and great food. The menu was reasonably wide in its range, with both of us going for the chilly squid starter which was very good, though not quite as good as that on offer at Home, in the city centre. My wife had the chicken which was superb, whilst I went for a trusty burger with pepper sauce, which again was very tasty, and for a tenner, very well priced. All in all, I'd recommend it for a no frills, enjoyable Friday night out, and it is a very welcome addition to the rather limited food offering on the Ormeau road.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eithne B, Owner at Shed, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am personally very pleased that you have found Shed an excellent addition to the Ormeau Road, and we will work hard every day to provide the quality of food, care in service, menu choices, atmosphere and value that our guests enjoy! Eithne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Noisy and overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We went as a party of 4 and can only describe the food as fair to middling! The fish cakes should been called potato cakes - for all the fish that was in them! Loud music was constantly playing and seemed to be turned up as the evening progressed! Is there any thing that can be done regarding loud unwanted music in restaurants? It simply kills good conversation!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eithne B, Owner at Shed, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We take great care to ensure that every guest has a positive experience at Shed, and your comments are important to help ensure that we maintain Shed’s high standards. It is our intent to address any concern at the time of service if we possibly can. The staff have full authority to do so, would welcome your feedback and are able to immediately address any concern such as those you have shared. The fish cake has been a popular starter but is no longer available on the summer menu. Your comment on music in restaurants is a good one, and while we try and maintain a level pleasing to all, it is challenging! Still, we will always honour any request to turn the music down as an environment promoting good conversation is a very important part of the Shed Experience. Thank you again for your feedback, and feel free to call and ask for me at Shed (02890 642 630) if you would like to discuss your experience further, or to let me know how we can make your next visit more positive. Eithne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just sooo good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Living very close by, I've walked passed Shed countless times but had never gone in until I had a random moment of inspiration to visit on a Thursday evening for dinner. The service was really great, the staff were friendly, attentive and genuinely welcoming. The menu was fairly priced, full of traditional flavours but with a modern twist, and had just the right amount of choice. But above all, the quality of the food was just outstanding. I couldn't believe how good my roast cod with basil mash was... It honestly looked like a work of art and tasted fantastic. To echo the previous comments of other reviewers, this is exactly what the Ormeau Rd needed. I normally end up in the Cathedral Quarter when going out for dinner, but it's really great to know this little gem is right around the corner. I will definitely be back and I wish all of the staff at Shed continued success. Thank you!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eithne B, Owner at Shed, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. You have mentioned several dimensions very important to the Shed Experience including the service, the value for money, the choices and quality of our food. Myself and all the staff are really glad that you stopped by, and hope to see you again at Shed! Thank you, again. Eithne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“been twice and twice its been great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Food first class but so is the service.

Took mu mum for dinner last night and she loved it. Hope not to many people find out about this little gem but do feel they need a well done.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eithne B, Owner at Shed, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We will work hard to ensure that your future visits are every bit as enjoyable! Thank you, again. Eithne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shed also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.