We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tour in Belfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A History of Terror - Belfast

A History of Terror - Belfast
Front Gates of Belfast City Hall, Belfast BT1 5GS, Northern Ireland
+44 7716 949460
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 83 activities in Belfast
Type: Walking tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A History of Terror is the No.1 walking tour in Belfast. The 2 hour tour covers 2.5 miles and visits 9 sites in Belfast city centre where the most historically important and tragic incidents of the conflict known as 'the Troubles' took place. You will learn about the Troubles, discover the stories of the people involved, the reasons why the conflict started, and the journey to the active, vibrant city you see today. Led by guides who are natives of Belfast and Conflict Historians, the tour is unbiased, educational and factual and has been described as 'Great value and a fantastic experience'. The tour costs £15 per person.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best tour in Belfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 NEW

When we arrived in N. Ireland everyone told us we had to do the black Taxi tours because it showed you everything. But a walking tour sounded more personal. So we decided to go with Dead Centre, The best part of the tour, and what sets it apart from other tours, was the personal experiences our guide, Paul, shared with us. Growing up in all of the violence it was like we were hearing a first hand account. Would recommend it to anyone interested in the history of N. Ireland.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must Do Tour in Belfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW

Before arriving in N. Ireland, I tried to do some research to start to understand the conflicts and underlying issues about the Troubles in Northern Ireland, but I had not even begun to grasp the complexity and history of the issues until this tour. I took the tour with Mark who did an excellent job of guiding me through both sides of the issues in an unbiased lesson on history and all that led up to it. We walked to various sites in the city centre to see the actual spots of the conflicts (Which you would never know except seeing new buildings) and Mark has historic pictures showing the same sites during the 1970's/1980's post being bombed and the gated streets. Highly recommend if you want to understand more of the Troubles from a guide who grew up in it. I would also suggest doing this tour before going out and seeing the Murals so you understand more about the history of the conflict. Mark had a great pace to his tour and left me with a lasting impression of this troubled time period in recent history.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at A History of Terror - Belfast, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hi Explore the World,

Thanks so much for your review, it's always fantastic to hear that the tour helps our guests understand the complexities of the conflict. It was a total pleasure to take you on the tour, and thanks for rating us so highly!

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best city walk ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW

We stayed three days in Belfast, and the last day we joined this guided walk. I am so happy that we did! The two hours with our guide Mark was extraordinary. His knowledge of the history and the events that have taken place in the City Center is remarkable, and he tells it in a way that make you think and react - and remember. The history - partly the very new history - became alive when he told us about the persons and showed us the places things had happened. After this walk, I definitely share his hope for a peaceful future for Belfast.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at A History of Terror - Belfast, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hi Eliza,

It was an absolute pleasure to take you guys on the tour yesterday. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review, it means a huge amount to know how highly you rate the tour.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corroios
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Mandatory tour if you want to learn about The Troubles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

This is a walking tour around the City Center in Belfast. It takes about 2 hours and it's all about the troubles and specific stories that happened during that time. The most interesting aspect of it all, is being able to walk in the same places where it all happened and see the related old photographs of the actual incidents. The guide's perspective in telling the whole story is very unbiased, and allows you to take your own conclusions.

If you want to know a little bit more about Belfast and the troubles, you can't miss this tour!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at A History of Terror - Belfast, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi Tiago,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. It really means a lot to hear how we help our guests connect with Belfast and learn about our past.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent intro...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

a group of us were really delighted to take this tour today. Although we couldn't do the full tour as we had time restraints the bit we did do was interesting, thought provoking and the tour guide knowledgeable and friendly.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at A History of Terror - Belfast, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Brian,
Paul said he had a great time taking your group on the 'abridged' tour. Thanks a million for taking the time to leave your review, it's massively appreciated!

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A History of Terror - Belfast also viewed

 

Been to A History of Terror - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A History of Terror - Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A History of Terror - Belfast to your Saves list