We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food but needs work on the decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Lily's Bistro

Little Lily's Bistro
223 Castlereagh Road, Belfast BT5 5FH, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9045 4287
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 811 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Belfast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Food but needs work on the decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I, normally creatures of habit when it comes to dining out, decided to try Rhubarb and we weren't disappointed. The food was excellent and my compliments to the chef, however first impressions are as they say very important. When we were shown to our table there was a bit of a whiff coming from the carpet and the area around us was a bit cluttered and showing signs of wear and tear. It wouldn't take much to spruce it up a bit as the decor is letting the food down. The waitress was friendly but could have been a bit more smartly dressed as I think it is important for front of house staff to look professional. With a bit more attention to detail this place would have got five stars from me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    31
    13
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I went with my husband on a Thursday evening when the deal was a 2 course for only £12.95 - this included ordering from the main menu and the specials of the day so the choices were very extensive.
The service was excellent as was the meal. We both order a fish starter, the presentation was good and the taste excellent. My husband selected a duck dish whilst I went for one of the special of the day dishes, crayfish with smoked chicken and sun-dried blush tomatoes. Again presentation and taste were first class.
This is a BYO restaurant so it really makes for a cheap night out. Also very impressed that the table was ours for the evening so we had a very relaxed meal with very attentive friendly staff.
It is an excellent small restaurant with an open plan kitchen and Chef working up front. Parking is right outside the door. Would recommend and have already booked to go back with a party of 9 friends later in the month. A real little gem in East Belfast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't underestimate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We ate at Rhubarb (Castlereagh Rd) the other evening and I can honestly say it was one of the best meals I've had. Their risotto is to die for! I've eaten here a few times now and although the decor is pretty basic, the food is so fresh and tasty. Staff are friendly and attentive and prices are reasonable...a great addition to the ever increasing East Belfast food scene.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Breakfast- also worth a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have had dinner quite a few times lately in Rhubarb and have found the food excellent on every visit. We finally got in for breakfast at the weekend and it was very good too. The fried duck egg with chorizo hash and smoked peppers was great. They also do free refills with breakfast at the weekend- including americanos which is great.
Service was very slow at the start and we had to repeatedly try and get a waitress's attention despite the fact they were not busy- but service was largely good after the wait and initial somewhat "off" attitude of the waitress. However, we assumed the waitress was just having an "off" morning as she has served us before in the evenings and is generally always efficient and on the ball. Overall Rhubarb Castlereagh never fails to impress us on the food front.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“RHUBARB RESTAURANT, Castlereagh Road, Belfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

RHUBARB is an excellent small restaurant, will take about 30 people. Open plan with Kitchen and Chef working up front. Food is first class, with seperate Menu for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Menu's are quite exciting, if a little short on content. Price is more than reasonable and so is the BYO Bottle scheme. Well worth a visit. My Wife and I went for Lunch on a Wednesday and were pleasantly surprised by the prompt and very friendly greeting.The Menu was quickly presented and advice given where requested. The food was quickly served and quickly cleared, followed by a lovely large cup of Americano coffee. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Lily's Bistro also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Little Lily's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Lily's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.