We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alley Cat

Alley Cat
46 Church Lane, Belfast, Northern Ireland
02890233282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #230 of 732 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Street Food
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Street Food
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Have ate here a few times now and the Burgers are always tasty and nice menu also for a bar with a lot of snacking items too

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    82
    50
    15
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best burger in Belfast bar none”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit to alley cat after hearing so much about it,my girlfriend and I both chose the burgers and got chilli fries between us.the burgers were delicious and cooked perfectly and the fries were amazing . we're only home from town and already we are planning our next trip back to alley cat

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unique dining experiencd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very pleased with food, cocktails and staff. Went for a friends birthday, I ordered the gougons which were delicious and good quality chicken. Price for food was quite reasonable. The teapot cocktails are quite quirky but a little pricey, we ordered 'cool beans' (highly recommend) however 'wrong island iced tea' wasnt great unless you like the after taste of beer.
Staff were very helpful and accommodating for us splitting the bil, and paying different amounts.

Will definitely be making a return trip, probabaly not the best for familys but certainly young people, groups and couples.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quirky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Alley cat is a cool place with a unique style and menu. The menu is quite limited so I would recommend you consult it before you go but if you are looking a good burger etc at a reasonable price and good atmosphere then it is spot on. Burgers rarely disappoint!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“bad management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went to alley cat on Friday for a retirement party spent a fortune on food & drink only to be told that we had to leave our table for the group. I asked where we would be moved to & was told "dunno" it ruined the night for me. So if you decide to go to this bar check if the group will need your space at any time during the evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chriswolzee, General Manager at Alley Cat, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi, we feel your review is very unfair. On Friday night we had a band playing. The table which you where sitting is the only area they can set up and play. You where told one hour before they arrived that we would need the table. And we mentioned to you that we would do our very best to find you somewhere else to sit. After a while we were able to move you upstairs to the restaurant area. As we where very busy, this was the only table free. Your group then moved upstairs to the table we saved for you, where you spent the rest of the night.
The staff made every effort to keep your group happy and to make sure you were kept up to date and accommodated the best we could. I'm sorry if you felt this wasn't enough but really the only other thing we could of done, would have been to cancel the band so you could keep your table.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alley Cat also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Alley Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alley Cat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.