We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour for the history of Belfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imaginary Micky's Walking Tours

Imaginary Micky's Walking Tours
121 Spamount Street, Belfast, Northern Ireland
+44 7414 073145
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 129 Activities in Belfast
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hello all and welcome to our labour of love! Anything that you want to see in Belfast can be arranged by contacting us. Our WEST BELFAST TOUR brings together a comprehensive and fascinating history of Ireland with a tour of our iconic murals. It lasts for 3.5 hours and really shouldn't be missed. Bring a camera and an umbrella! Of course, we have a great selection of regular tours but we are totally flexible on every aspect of your selection. But we are much more than that! As founder members of Belfast Connected, we are able to offer an incomparable selection of packages designed to help you make the most of our city. Whether you fancy and in depth study of our history or something more casual - maybe a truly unique north coast tour including, naturally, the spectacular Giant's Causeway, lunch in great restaurants, a search for long lost relatives, get in touch. We guarantee the best prices and the best service. If you have any doubts, just read the reviews. We are good at what we do!
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great tour for the history of Belfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Highly recommend this tour of Belfast, very knowledgeable and takes you through lots of sights with historical stories behind them, energetic and interesting tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImaginaryMicky, Owner at Imaginary Micky's Walking Tours, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi Joshua. Really pleased that you enjoyed the tour and that you found it useful. Next time you find yourself on this side of the water, look us up! Thanks for taking the time to review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fun and informative way to spend the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A brilliant way to spend your day learning about Irish History and seeing some of the vital areas regarding some of the troubles of Belfast's past. Made better by the welcoming and highly insightful Micky who really brings his energy and love of Belfast to his tour. Would highly recommend this tour to everyone!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImaginaryMicky, Owner at Imaginary Micky's Walking Tours, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi Nathan, really glad you found it worthwhile. Hope to welcome you back to Belfast soon. Thanks for taking the time to comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A brilliant way to spend a few hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Far from being imaginary Micky is very real, very sociable very likeable and very well-informed. 'The troubles' are put in the context of anglo-irish political history as you do a loop of the Falls and Shankill Road areas in this excellent walking tour. I never went on the black cab or hoho tour of west Belfast but I don't see how you can get the same sense of the divided communities and 'the troubles' as we got from walking around and spending as much time as we needed looking at murals, talking about incidents etc. I hope to come back to Belfast and try one of Micky's other tours.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImaginaryMicky, Owner at Imaginary Micky's Walking Tours, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed the tour and your stay here in Belfast. Thank you for taking the time to review. Hope to meet up again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great and thought-provoking tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We really enjoyed Micky's walking tour of West Belfast. Micky is very knowledgeable and a good communicator. Belfast's troubled history is clearly part of his heart as well as his head.

The benefit of this tour for me was the way we so close to the events and the history, something you wouldn't get from cruising past in a bus. I highly recommend this tour. Don't visit Belfast without doing it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImaginaryMicky, Owner at Imaginary Micky's Walking Tours, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Many thanks for this review. I am really glad that you enjoyed the tour and am impressed that you had enough energy left not only to shop but also to do a review so quickly! Have a great stay here and enjoy the Causeway today. i hope that the weather is kind to you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A very informative and entertaining tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I couldn't recommend this tour more highly. Micky takes a comprehensive look at the history of Belfast, from both sides of the political divide. I was also fortunate enough to take the tour on a Saturday, with Micky acting as my host for a Cliftonville FC game. Again, a very enjoyable trip and a great way to round out the day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImaginaryMicky, Owner at Imaginary Micky's Walking Tours, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Many thanks for the review. I'm only sorry that I couldn't furnish you with a more positive result at Banbridge! Nevertheless, the boys are now top of the table having won both of their opening fixtures including a hammering four goals past Linfield on their own ground. This means that you can wear that shirt with pride. Really glad that you enjoyed the day and I hope that the rest of your trip went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imaginary Micky's Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Imaginary Micky's Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imaginary Micky's Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.