We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical 'all you can eat' buffet atmosphere....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Buffet

Mandarin Buffet
100-150 Cityside Retail Park | city side (york gate), Belfast BT15 1WA, Northern Ireland
028 907 548 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #327 of 777 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Typical 'all you can eat' buffet atmosphere....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Food not warm enough and waiters who hover and snatch your plate from under your fork as soon as you put the last morsel of food off it into your mouth...oh boy does that annoy me, I prefer to reuse my plate!

Price is reasonable pre-6pm but at the stroke of 6pm it almost doubles although the selection of dishes does not increase or vary.

Evidence everywhere of how people forget everything their mother taught them once they set foot in a Chinese buffet restaurant...how on earth anyone can slap a thick layer of chicken curry all over a thicker layer of sweet and sour chicken, cover both with ribs and then top it all off with a dozen salt and chilli prawns is beyond me....why do people do this? is there a food shortage...??

To top this experience off a toddler sat with its family in the corner near the toilets screamed its head off for the entire 40 minutes we were there making any attempt at conversation an ordeal...and being parents we're not members of the cranky 'child-free' community either, we just don't understand why some parents allow their kids to make so much noise!

No thanks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very good value for money, good selection of starters & main only disappointment the dessert section of buffet.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“TO DIE FOR....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

love this place. They do such a brilliant buffet, day and night. Its all you can eat as well.

On Monday they have buy one get one free and its £6.99 as long as you leave/pay before 5pm. so thats £6.99 for 2 plus a jug of orange for £3 and you and a friend can eat for less than a tenner in this amazing all you can eat restaurant. Its clean, the waiters / waistresses are really friendly. They dont stare you out if you go up for more lol.

Definitely cant rate it highly enough. Prawn toast, lovely cocktail sausages, curly fries, soups, large variety of sweet chilli / chicken curry / beef in black bean / sweet and sour / rices etc plus desserts! In fact i might go this weekend, im making my own mouth water!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, N.Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Chinese buffet in Belfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

This a regular stop for us as are whole family enjoy the food on offer. Food is constantly being replenished, and hot. Always clean, and staff polite.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A very good variety of food. Price includes good variey of sweets as well. As with a buffet, you can eat as much as you wish and refill as many times as you wish. The only thing that is sad about the place are that most of the guests think that it is a time to stuff themselves and stack their plates with food that even my Grandfather's pigs would not be able to eat. I am not kidding, I saw a lady? of medium built who had at least a 4 inch high pyramid of mixed food stacked on her plate. Food is left on the plates, not because of lack of taste, but a lack of understanding that there is plenty of time to taste a little bit of all, and to then go back and have some more of the dishes that you favour. They will keep the food nice an warm and fresh and it will not dissapear after your first plate

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Buffet also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Mandarin Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.