We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Global Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Global Village to your Saves list
Global Village
87 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hostel in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just back from a great stay in the Global Village hostel, super friendly guys running it, very chilled and relaxed atmosphere, super cool place - would stay here over any hotel in Belfast. Thank you Brett and Fox for your hospitality! - Ash

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    33
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
13
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Clean hostel, friendly staff. Comfortable place to stay while in Belfast.

Location is good. Lots of pub & cafes around it. City town hall and shopping is 10 minutes walk.

Definately would recommend :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here this weekend, 4 girls for a weekend in the city. We looked into hotels/apartments but everything was crazy expensive! We were worried about staying in a hostel because we have never done it before, but for £15 a night we thought we'd give it a bash! Sure be good craic! We were so so impressed by the hostel, the bedrooms were clean (with cages under the bed to fit a small Irish girl), the bathrooms were immaculate with no queues. Brett the hostel owner was a legend - made sure we were all happy and even ordered us pizza (with 20% off) at 3am - what a babe! Only a 10 minute walk to the centre, and less than £5 home from the clubs. Will definitely stay again & recommend. We miss you already Brett :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

If I could live here, I would.
Staff were all so friendly and inclusive, it was great value, and I was so sad to leave.
Easily the best hostel experience I've ever had - I really liked that it wasn't a huge, soulless place, but a cozy and fun area, where you are encouraged to join in and mingle, or just do your own thing.
If you're staying in Belfast, Global Village is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we stepped in the door it was our home away from home. Complete with dog that is so ugly that it is cute...didn't see him after the first day so not sure what happened to the poor bugger, hope he's ok. There's the option to party with fellow guests or do your own thing and the rooms are quiet enough to get some sleep when needed. The staff must be congratulated.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed here on my third trip to Belfast in 2 years (the various Titanic commemorations.) The main big plus point was the fantastic kitchen. I could cook for myself a few times, which saved money and gave it the edge of the YHA which I had stayed at before last year. Which was fine by the way but institutional and not very friendly. The rooms (I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm) are what you expect in a hostel, functional and reasonably clean, it was a bit unfortunate that I came back one day, and someone had left a half empty can of beer under their bed which in a stuffy atmosphere...yikes. But overall, the standard was fine, though having to traipse 2 floors down to the nearest shower and toilet from the top floor was a bit tiresome. It meant that every shower expedition had to be planned so you didn't forget anything!

The dog was cute beyond words as said, and the staff very accommodating and friendly if laid back to the point of horizontal! Definitely the best of the 3 hostels over the years I've stayed in Belfast. Very enjoyable. The location is excellent, near the uni, therefore you have plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and also the Botanic station is very close so you don't need to walk into the centre if you go to the Ulster Folk and Transport Museum out at Cultra which is an absolute must, much better than the overhyped and very disappointing new Titanic Belfast.

Enjoy Belfast, it's my favourite city, and the pubs are brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Global village was one of the first hostels I have stayed in, and it remains the best by far. With super friendly staff, comfortable common rooms and clean and comfortable facilities it was definitely value for money. Good eating places were just a short walk away, and the centre of Dublin not much further. Staff were happy to recommend things to do and advise you on how to get there and/or help you organise it. The size was also perfect - small enough to give it the lovely personal and friendly atmosphere, but large enough that you could find your own space if you wanted. Would definitely recommend this hostel if you're headed to Belfast!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Global Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Village

Address: 87 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Global Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Global Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.