We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stay Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ten Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ten Square to your Saves list
Ten Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Donegal Square South, Belfast BT1 5JD, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Armagh, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Superb Stay Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

i booked on the hotel website and got the internet special for £99 B&B from £170 for the same room normally. i was staying here to celebrate my first wedding anniversary and i couldnt have picked a better place. The Hotel, service room, food, bar, brekfast, atmosphere and location are faultless and i cannot say a bad word about this place and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Belfast.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    151
    25
    17
    15
See reviews for
81
295
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
county antrim
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

having heard some good reports i had wanted to stay in ten square for a long time before my husband treated me to a night in one of their more expensive rooms. while my expectations of chic and boutique were initially met in the reception area i found the room itself disappointing and not at all as i had hoped. as a boutique hotel i had imagined art and soft furnishings but instead the room was really quite bare with high ceilings and not quite enough furniture. the walls and curtains were an uninspired beige and the carpet had once been something similar. robes and slippers were in supply which is always good and the bathroom was very clean with some lovely aromotherapy associates toiletries. the location of this hotel is fantastic with the city right on the doorstep. on street parking was ok for the weekend although could be a real problem otherwise. overall the accomodation really did not live up to the price tag or reputation. breakfast is ok although i dont advise the eggs benedict which turned out to be bagels with bacon in disguise!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the decor and furnishings in the room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

I can not recommend this hotel. It was quite simply the worst customer service i have ever experienced.

From the receptionist who left me open-mouthed and mid-sentence when whilst i was checking in, as she answered the phone. No "excuse me" or "do you mind" and then had a 5 minute conversation, while i simply had to stand there and wait for her to finish. Her explanation; "its my job to answer the phone." Never mind about the customer infront of you!

To the hotel charging me £1.14 on my credit card to return my phone charger to me; yes my mistake i forgot it, but hardly a boutique, 4 * star attitude.

Loved Belfast and would go back, but certainly would not stay there again. Dreadful service.

  • Liked — Outdoor terrace
  • Disliked — Dreadful customer service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

Ten Square boasts that it is a luxury hotel, but having stayed there on Saturday 26th July, the management need to take a serious look at the service provided.

We chose the £190 "Romance Package" and expectations were high, especially after opting for Ten Square over The Merchant.

The sprinkling of rose petals, the champagne and the aromatherapy gift set did little to mask the lack of luxury. Our room was full of damaged furniture, burnt lampshades and walls heavily marked with something? The shower and bath was lined with black mould. On one of the hottest days of the year, the air conditioning was broken!!

The manager was informed about the inadequacies and we were insulted by the offer of an electric fan, a drink on the house or £20 deduction on our bill. When we asked the manager to contact The Merchant, he almost collapsed and began to inform us that he knew, for a fact, that there were no rooms available. If only his clairvoyance had foreseen the the broken air conditioning!! After a lot of negotiating, we were offer a £60 deduction.

In conclusion - don't believe the blurb or the well out dated press quotes.

Ten Square is far from chic or luxurious and the cream has definitely turned sour.

“One of the chicest boutique hotels in Ireland”
Susan d'Arcy, Sunday Times

“ Ten Square is a model of luxurious living at the highest standards”
Mirror Newspaper

“Ten Square has established itself as the cream of Belfast hostelries – and with good reason”
GQ Magazine

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Poor value for money
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Stayed in Ten Square for my 30th birthday and it was easily the best choice my husband could have made for Belfast. The room was beautiful, definitely luxurious and overlooked the city hall. Some people have complained about stains on the carpet etc but we never found any of that. In fact the room was exceptionally clean; no carpet stains or chipped furniture and everything worked fine.

A definitely plus was the lack of travelling noise in the hotel despite the city centre location. After a night out in town we never heard anything despite the hotel hosting a wedding and a full bar downstairs.

We found the service to be really great. As instructed by my husband there was champagne and flowers in the room upon arrival and we had no problems with receiving messages, arranging transport, dining arrangements, and checking in or out etc.

Probably the best part of the stay was the breakfast – my husband still raves about it! We’ve stayed in many hotels across the world but the quality of the food on offer and the service at breakfast was fantastic. It really added to the boutique feel of the hotel.

I would definitely stay here again and wouldn’t even consider staying anywhere else in the city centre.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — going home
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ten Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Square

Address: 10 Donegal Square South, Belfast BT1 5JD, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#6 Family Hotel in Belfast
#17 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Square 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Belfast hotel is located just steps from the historic City Hall, Waterfront Hall, the business district and the Victoria Square shopping mecca, and offers a variety of award-winning luxury hotel rooms as well as The Grill Room Restaurant & Bar - one of Belfast's most popular meeting and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ten Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Square
Ten Square Belfast
Ten Square Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ten Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.