We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively late up all hours hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ten Square

Save Saved
You added Ten Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ten Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Donegal Square South, Belfast BT1 5JD, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 hotels in Belfast
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lively late up all hours hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed for one night in this central Belfast hotel. Whilst I would comment that the price is fairly high I really enjoyed the stay.

A huge corner room, sparkling clean, deep bath (mainly warm water, not piping), huge beds and a glass of sparkling rose wine on arrival. Being something of a connoisseur on bathroom freebies I thought the fragrance of the Noir products was really good.

The bar and restaurant downstairs are places to be seen and as a result totally heaving and rowdy till late.

We sat up in the lobby area for drinks until past 2 being looked after by a fantastically helpful member of the hotel staff.

Newspaper in the morning was the wrong one but to be honest, that's a tiny error.

Stayed room only so can't comment on breakfast. One thing that bother me was being woken on sunday by housekeeping hoovering, People come to hotels at the weekend to relax, we don't want to hear housework at 9am.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    119
    24
    15
    12
See reviews for
66
255
22
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Boutique hotels can be a bit of a hit or a miss affair, But not this one. The location of the hotel, on the main Donegall Sq. next to the City Hall means that it is ideal to sample the cultural and culinary delights of the City.

The staff are very friendly and welcoming, qualities which have no doubt rubbed off from their charismatic General Manager. The food in both the main Restaurant and Bar is of the highest standard and the breakfasts are a veritable feast to st you up for the day.

Rooms in this hotel, as expected, are large, spacious and very comfortable. . AS you enter the bathroom, the huge bath centred in the middle of the floor is just as inviting as the kingsize bed in the bedroom.

A combination of staff and style make this hotel well worth a visit and I for one will certainly be back again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are on the main Donegall Square and traffic can be busy at peak times, although t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed in ten square as part of my sisters hen weekend, 13 of us stayed and i don't think one of us could fault it in any way. we were greeted on arrival with some sparkling wine then we were booked in for a cocktail masterclass which was very good...the fishbowl daiquiri's are too die for and the bar staff are amazing!! we also had dinner here on there on the sat nite n yet again no1 could complain which is rare when there is such a big crowd!! bar was absolut rooms are beautiful and spacious!! overall we had great experience and i'll definitely be back for another visit....this time i'll definitely fit in some time for shopping as its just on the hotels doorstep!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Have been here many times for lunch and will most likely be returning again. Every time the food, staff and atmosphere have been of a consistent high standard; I usually go for their burgers as they certainly fill that hunger void. Clean, nice staff and a good feed; all in a very central location. Not sure if I would go for drinks at the weekend though, but it seems to get a good crowd even in the situation that the bar and restaurant sector has been in recently.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed for a night dinner bed and breakfast in a third floor room. Lovely room, friendly staff and wonderful service in restaurant. Only a small issue bath water could have been hotter. That aside thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a pleasure. Beautiful rooms. Very roomy fourth floor room with great view over the city hall. Really really friendly and attentive staff. It was a pleasure and I will book again. The entrance from reception is slightly confusing first time round, but this is a minor detail

Room Tip: Top floor, if you like rooms with attic qualities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Having been given the option to explain himself, Jonathon , the restaurant manager, has yet to return my call. Also, this hotel does not read their emails, and if the do they are obviously loath to addressing difficult issues!

I stayed in this hotel because my friend was celebrating her birthday and we were to dine and celebrate her birthday here...her choice. Firstly, my friend had booked a table in the bar as she wanted to be right in the middle of the fun. On the day of her birthday she received a call more or less telling her that there was no longer a table in the bar as Hen Parties get priority!!!!!!

We are seated in the restaurant at 8pm. There are others coming to celebrate, though skipping the meal and arriving at 10pm...plenty of time as we only wanted cocktails and a main course. Paul, our waiter, was lovely but seriously over-worked especially when a fight broke out where another waiter was involved!

By 9pm we were pretty desperate for food and drink. Bread had been brought to the table but only enough for 4 (an appetizer) not 10 people!!!! We went to the bar to be told that the waiter had to bring our drinks which we had ordered an hour before! And we were still waiting for our wine. At 10pm our only course arrived and our other friends had arrived too....for the cake! At that stage, the birthday girl was truly upset and disappointed. At 11pm we were blowing out the candles but two of the guests were missing as babysitting duties were over!

When the bill came they had the audacity to write with pen that the suggested service charge was £30...sadly the bill was in someone else's hands and I paid my very expensive part. It was only afterwards when I saw the bill that I became rather cross.

When I spoke to my friend a few days later I told her that I had called the hotel to say how disappointed we were with the whole experience and that without fail they were to get back to me. She laughed and said that she had emailed the day after her birthday and was still waiting to hear from them. She was disgusted and said "never again"...that says it all...

Belfast is in trouble but obviously Ten Square are not interested enough to respond to unhappy customers. It just takes a simple phone call...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ten Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Square

Address: 10 Donegal Square South, Belfast BT1 5JD, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#5 Family Hotel in Belfast
#6 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Belfast hotel is located just steps from the historic City Hall, Waterfront Hall, the business district and the Victoria Square shopping mecca, and offers a variety of award-winning luxury hotel rooms as well as The Grill Room Restaurant & Bar - one of Belfast's most popular meeting and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ten Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Square
Ten Square Belfast
Ten Square Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ten Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.