We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a frown” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Fish

Cafe Fish
539 Lisburn Road, Belfast BT9 7GQ, Northern Ireland
028 9066 4731
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 811 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Fast Food
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service with a frown”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Waited half an hour on a fish supper girl on till who took my order made no excuse for the obvious delay. When i asked her for an update on my order i was made to feel that i was a pesty customer, as for the food there was more batter than fish and the chips tasted of wet dog. I had heard such good reports of cafe fish all i can say is the people of south belfast are easily pleased Cafe fish more like Cafe pish

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    7
    2
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Chippy in Belfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Absolutely love going to Café Fish for several reasons.

Firstly and most importantly the food is always consistently beautiful, I buy Chicken Goujons with peppered sauce. The Batter is uniquely beautiful, the peppered sauce is soooo creamy and the chips are great. They are always very generous with portions.

To top it off the owners are always in their shop which is a plus and they are the most down to earth and friendly people you will every come across, they make the business!

I don't know anyone that can say anything bad about this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

cafe fish lisburn road has to be the best for fish and chip in belfast just tryed the sit in part across the road tonite and i must say Friendly service no complaints and we will return very soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“FISH GOOD.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I am a fan of the take away and glad to see the sit in opened across the street on the Lisburn road.. I cant faulty the place, though fish could be slightly bigger. Friendly service and prompt make his a must visit in this side of Belfast.
Prices average and mixed clientele. Upstairs seating as well relieve the cramped space down below.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I used to go into here quite often & really enjoyed it & felt really welcome however recently when i went in i felt the server didnt make me feel welcome at all.
I felt she looked down upon me, wont be back in a hurry

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fish also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Cafe Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.