We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home in Nepal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kathmandu Kitchen Nepalese & Indian Restaurant

Kathmandu Kitchen Nepalese & Indian Restaurant
11 Botanic Avenue, Belfast BT7 1JG, Northern Ireland
00442890249264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 783 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Kathmandu is a New restaurant in Belfast offers Nepalese and Indian food. The Kathmandu Kitchen would be an inspiring ethnic restaurant, would offers a unique dining experience combining an intriguing atmosphere with excellent, healthy Nepalese food and excellent services in Belfast.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just like home in Nepal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and atmosphere. Outstanding momos-as good as you get them in Nepal. Very authentic tastin Nepalese food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    30
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This restaurant was super tasty! We were visiting Belfast and dined there on a Tuesday night around 9pm. We had the restaurant to ourselves and the food was just fantastic. We ordered two mains (the tandoori special and the Kathmandu curry) and we got free papadams and a mango salsa and another dip as starter. The servings are a bit larger than what I usually get in Nepalese/Indian restaurants in Sydney. The food was great value, absolutely delicious and I would have to say one of the best Nepalese/Indian food I have had. Staff was polite and attentive. Highly recommended, especially if you like spicy foods.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drogheda
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This restaurant will suit anybody who likes spicy food, but as my partner cant manage this, they listened to her requirements and served a beautiful dish, which was totally enjoyed.
The staff are very helpful, and the background music transported us to Nepal.
I would definitely return here on my next visit to Belfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great tasty indian food. Can't fault it. My boyfriend tried a Nepalese dish and loved it (it wasn't a think creamy consistency like Indian it was slightly like a black bean sauce out of the chinese) I seen on the door they do a deal between 5 and 7pm which would be brilliant value! Overall nice meal and reasonably priced otherwise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Kathmandu deserves an excellent rating for its food which is all that previous discerning reviewers have described. But it will require many more connoisseurs of Asian cuisine to review this extablishment so that it takes its rightful place in the top ten. There appears to be a compettion to elevate Indian Restaurants that serve non-authentic curries laden with sugar to the highest ranking (this is NOT one of them). I, too, regret having not eaten here before now. Ignore the forbidding exterior and awkward location and experience the abundance of flavours and exquiste taste that you rarely find in Northern Ireland curry houses. Proud of their food and culture and ready and willing to impart their knowledge of the remarkable Nepalese cuisine the staff provide welcome and attention with a sincerity rarely found in other restaurants. One of the indicators of a good meal in a good venue is that you may linger long after the plates are cleared. We lingered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathmandu Kitchen Nepalese & Indian Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Kathmandu Kitchen Nepalese & Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathmandu Kitchen Nepalese & Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.