We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love, love, love this place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Restaurant

Home Restaurant
22 Wellington place, Belfast BT1 6GE, Northern Ireland
02890234946
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 737 restaurants in Belfast
Price range: $17 - $27
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“love, love, love this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I go here all the time. Lunch and dinner, with partner, friends and family. I have never been let down and everyone I bring have an excellent experience too.

Food is excellent, Menu has a wee something for everyone, but their specials are always amazing. High quality food, flavours well put together and always beautifully presented. The chef clearly has passion and talent.

A big plus for this restaurant is the reasonable wine list. An excellent range for all budgets and some exceptional wines at much lower cost that you see in other nearby restaurants.

The atmosphere in the evening is brilliant, and lunches are absolutely buzzing. The staff are friendly and its very much service with a smile

Cannot rate this restaurant highly enough!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    218
    114
    39
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Pleasing menu, with interesting lunch options. Nice atmosphere, decor and friendly staff. A great lunch experience

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently went for lunch here with my parents for the first time 2 of us had the beef salad with noodles and 1 had the burger with fries all 3 meals were lovely very tasty. Also hada ginger beer which was great this restaurant was extremely busy for a Monday lunch which is always a good sign! Staff are also excellent really enjoyed our lunch will def be back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had lunch in Home today. They had a special menu on for Belfast Restaurant Week with two courses for £10.50 and three courses for £13.00. Had the spiced fishcakes with Moroccan couscous, followed by pan-fried hake with chorizo, beans and fennel and then the cheese board. Unfortunately the fish cakes were bland - no spice at all but the main course was really delicious. My husband had Jerusalem artichoke risotto (I think the best risotto I have tasted) and pork escalope with fries which he loved. We drank a Chilean carmenere (red) which was good and cost £13.50. Waiting staff were attentive - asking if the meal was ok etc. and the atmosphere was relaxed. Home offer an interesting menu and really tasty food - worth a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Might as well face it i am addicted to HOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lunch in here is really good. Its seems to be busy every time i come in, not busy so much that you have to wait to long for a table, maybe 10 mins. Not like so many restaurants where you can just walk in and get a table at any time. I was unsure about how it would be for dinner thinking that it was really a lunch venue. When my frends booked it for saturday night dinner i was delighted to go. The dinner and lunch menu are very close but dinner offers some more elegant food.The service is good very friendly and staff seem to know what is going with food and wine. The wine list is great value some wines i have seen in other restaurants at a much higher mark up. One of our party was veggie and they have a full veggie menu not just as so many places do which is just take the meat or fish away and thats the option.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Home Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.