We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep walking by” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Indian Ocean

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Indian Ocean
2 Queen's Quay, Belfast BT3 9QQ, Northern Ireland
028 90466888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #460 of 783 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Keep walking by”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I knew it wasn't going to go well when the lunch menu has two prices, one for 2 courses and another or 3, BUT crucially the waiter wouldn't let us have a main and dessert as 2 courses... having that counted as a 3rd.
Bizarre.
Whatsmore, the 3rd course on offer was "ice cream [no range of flavours - 2 scoops], coffee, cappuccino"
I went for a cappuccino. Big mistake. It was one of those Neskwik sachets. It wasn't even stirred in, so the lumps of milk solids floated around the top before going the way of the Titanic.

Nothing else is worth wasting the electrons to comment upon.

Avoid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    3
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great meal and environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant provides a great environment and food which comes with very traditional service standards. We really enjoyed our meal. Food is slightly over priced though. Overall a good meal spot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Dreadful Quality of Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I had a meal in this restaurant last night and I was disgusted when I cut my chicken to find it was brown inside. I couldn't eat the meat and it really spoilt my meal. The portions are expensive and small. I really think when the meal is £11.45 plus extra for accompanying sides there should be chicken breast and not the horrible sustance that was served. I did not complain as I was not paying but I shall avoid this place at all costs in the future. I agree with the other reviewer who said there are much better places to go for a meal in Victoria Square or Cathedral Quarter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Food expensive and bland. Chicken biryani was tasteless and could hardly see the chicken. we shared a starters and bhaji so small we couldnt even split it in half. all deep fried with dry lettuce in side..No atmosphere in the restaurant..nothing positive to say at all..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great restaurant , nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great restaurant with nice food, good service and good value for money, left stuffed to the gills!
I can recomend the chilli masalla

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Indian Ocean also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Indian Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Indian Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.