We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stena SuperfastVIII

Stena SuperfastVIII
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 152 attractions in Belfast
Type: Ferries/ Boats
Attraction Details
Belfast
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I used the Ferry for the 'Rail and Sail' package to Edinburgh for Hogmanay.

I travelled on the early morning service. The ship was clean, tidy and had plenty of different areas to explore. Unfortunately, a couple of things let the trip down. I queued for 25 minutes, to get breakfast in the cafe, there seemed to be a lot of staff working however they all appeared to be 'doing there own thing', there was no co-ordination amongst them. For example, they were serving one customer, going to get toast, and then waiting of the chef providing the food, rather than working the queue and serving the next customer whilst they were waiting. The food itself was tasty, albeit a little on the expensive side £8 for a sausage & egg bap and a drink. I was able to get a comfortable seat for the duration of the sailing,

The return journey was very packed, At the port the walkway was broke and we had to be transported to the ship via bus, which caused a lot of frustration amongst passengers, as there was a mad 'surge' to get a seat on the sailing when we got onboard. I managed to mind a comfortable little spot for myself on a bench! Some passengers were left to wander around during the crossing.

Arriving back in Belfast there was a 30 minute wait for the bag I checked in.

Positives:
Cheap to travel
Allows feasibility of carrying large amounts of luggage

Negatives:
Onboard catering expensive
Possibility of slow service from catering staff
Might not get a seat.

Would I travel again? - Yes probably as long as I wasn't in a rush.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This was a great way to travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I decided to take the ferry from Ireland to Scotland rather than a discount airline and I was so happy I did. The boat was lovely and the crew was fantastic. It was like a small cruise ship with shops, restaurants, moves, and a spa. It was so comfortable and pleasant. I will never take a cheap airline again as long as the ferry runs.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norge
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A very nice way to travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This boat from Belfast to Scotland was a good experience. It was very relaxing and with good food. The price for 2 hours and 15 minutes is a bit stiff, with £62 for to persons one way. There is cinema and even a SPA on board. What more can you expect? A waiting bus took us from the boat and to Glasgow.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Coach Traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Comfortable and smoother than HSS although I was on a coach and the loader made a rude gesture to the driver which I thought was unproffesnial
ll

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“very impressive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

a lovely new big boat, very spacious. kidds play area could have been more substantial but kids liked it! plenty to do to put time in - bar, cafe, shop, arcade, internet stations, out on deck. shop and food very expensive, but thats always the case. (9
pounds for two kids cereals and 3 drinks!!!)
but quick sail and staff all nice!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stena SuperfastVIII also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Stena SuperfastVIII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stena SuperfastVIII, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stena SuperfastVIII to your Saves list