We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Family Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza, Belfast

Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza, Belfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza, Belfast
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Nights, Save 30%
Ranked #22 of 43 hotels in Belfast
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Comfortable Family Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Husband and I stayed for two nights in a family room with 2 children (aged 3 months and 4 years). Very comfortable large room. Travel cot provided. Very clean and airy. Very friendly polite staff. Swimming pool a bonus as not many hotels in Belfast can offer this in our experience. Wifi worked well and parking right outside the door another bonus. Close to city and sights though car required. Very comfortable stay and will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Annmarie

Thank you for kind comments during your recent stay at The Ramada Plaza. Its lovely to hear that everything was satisfactory with your stay. Its delightful that you and your family enjoyed the facilities that we have at the hotel from our leisure swimming pool, convenient parking and large comfortable bedrooms suitable for your family stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for another returned visit.

Kind regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    213
    96
    52
    44
See reviews for
177
150
23
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked our wedding after attending a wedding fair back in September 2012. The service and attention to detail and help we got was amazing! Roisin & her staff went above and beyond the call off duty, don't know how we would've done it without them. We got the Buffett for our meal, everyone commented on how yummy the food was. Also a special mention to our master of ceremonies who helped us on the day & who's name at this moment in time I shamefully can not recall! Well done Ramada! ^.^

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Nenebo B

Thank you for choosing the Ramada Plaza Hotel for your wedding venue. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the wonderful comments on your special wedding day. We are so delighted that we made everything amazing on that day. Our professional team provides the best attention to detail and is always at hand on the day from beginning to end to make sure everything goes off without any hitches to make that perfect day. It was great to hear your lovely comments and look forward to seeing you back at The Ramada Plaza on another occasion. We wish you all the best in the future.

Kind regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Down
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here on 22nd June for the first time. Hotel staff were friendly, reception was efficient on arrival. I had asked for a free 'room upgrade' and was told that they had given us an Executive room. Their Executive rooms seemed pretty standard to me for a 4 star hotel, then maybe their Executive rooms are the basic ones. Had all that you come to expect in a hotel room with tea/coffee facility although two cups each was all they had provided for however room was comfortable, with a massive bed, clean, had a safe, iron and ironing board and flat screen TV.
The Dining room in the evening was reasonably busy and had a decent Menu offering both British and Indian menus which you could mix and pick from. Apparently the hotel is owned by an Indian family which probably accounted for the number of staff employed of Indian descent. I opted for Indian dining which proved to be nice even though the 'tikka' starter was quite small, my wife opted for half chicken with the usual trimmings, that was a disappointment as the chicken was tasteless and we did tell the waiter that, they would have realised anyway that something was wrong as very little of it was eaten. We proceeded to desserts which were excellent however no attempt was made to remedy the problem we had with the 'chicken' main course.
Breakfast in morning was buffet style and with a great variety of both cooked and non-cooked you were spoiled for choice, the only hiccup with the breakfast was the pot of lukewarm tea set at our table but we got a fresh pot once we asked for it.
Generally we would say that our experience in this hotel was ok, not bad, not brilliant but just ok. Would not be in any great rush to return. We stay in a lot of hotels and feel that we can speak the truth about our experiences, we have stayed in 3 star rated hotels and have had fantastic experiences which made this one a wee bit disappointing for us. We did not avail of the leisure facilities here so cannot comment on them.

Room Tip: If seeking an upgrade maybe best to ask to see them first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Smileandb

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. Our customers feedback is very important to us both positive and negative and take on board all your comments. We do hope you found our executive rooms comfortable with everything that you required to make your stay relaxing and as pleasurable as possible. During your stay you had the chance to avail of our Green Room restaurant which we hope you enjoyed your dinner experience, you mentioned your disappointment with your main course being tasteless, our Restaurant Manager or supervisor on the evening would of been only to happy to assist with your dish or change to something to your required taste. I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at The Ramada Plaza and hope that we get the chance to welcome you back to try all our facilities that we have on offer.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed 21st to 23rd June 2013 with a wedding party. Checked in and took magnetic key to room. Could not get into room with key, had them changed and still didn't work. Eventually got a working one but left room and could not get back in. Clearly faulty lock. The hotel itself was nice and clean mostly friendly staff. I was on 2nd floor and it was very quiet. Room was clean and dust free. Cleaners did arrive late in the day. On check in we were informed of location and times of breakfast assuming we had it in price. Arrived at breakfast to be informed in was £25.00 for two of us. A bit steep so we left it. Cant really fault otherwise. Would like to give it a good but that option is not on scale.

ps beware of night security staff they are less than truthful but the duty manager did rectify this to satisfaction of all.

Room Tip: 2nd floor was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear apnboys

Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza for your recent stay while attending your wedding party. We do hope you had a fantastic time at your wedding party enjoyed by all. We are extremely sorry you had difficulties with your room keys, this could of been technical hitch or error in programming the keys which then are cancelled out which have to be reprogrammed, we do hope this did not cause to much inconvenience. You mentioned breakfast being included in your rate, it appears you booked room only which breakfast is extra, however we do offer bed and breakfast rates which offers a full buffet range with good selection to suit everyone. Thank you on your kind comments on our hotel being nice and clean and friendly staff its lovely to hear.
We would love to welcome you back for another stay in the future where you can enjoy all our facilities we have to offer.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. room was a decent size and clean, bed was comfy. shower curtain could of done with changing as smelt a bit. Had a problem with key card had to change it twice as wouldn't work but this was fine afterwards. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Was told at check in the breakfast times and thought I'd booked breakfast but when went down was told breakfast wasn't included which was a bit embarrassing.
Overall a fine stay and 'good' hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Stephen

Thank you for posting your review during your recent two night stay at The Ramada Plaza. We do hope you had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay at the hotel and where able to make most of all our facilities in the relaxing surroundings we provide within the hotel. We appreciate your comments both positive and negative and on any issues you encountered from housekeeping which I must apologize and will certainly pass on to our head of department and investigate why the shower curtain had not been changed in your room, also on the problem you had with your keys which I hope was not to much of a inconvenience. Thank you on your kind comments on the friendly and helpful staff its nice to know that our team is always willing to assist our guests to make there stay as enjoyable at all times. We look forward in welcoming you back on your next return visit.
regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel itself is about 25 minutes from city airport, but this we knew. Upon arrival the reception was 'frosty', we were told colouring books and chocolates were to put into our room for my son's birthday - i was given a carrier bag with a book of 4 pages suitable for a three year old, and a mars bar, glad i didn't 'big' that one up to my son beforehand. In our room the shower curtain was FILTHY as was my son's duvet cover, we asked for it to changed, i was looked at like I'd asked for a winning lottery ticket - a member of staff was wandering the corridor when i took my son up to bed, he asked if i was looking for a clean duvet cover and brought me a sheet - not very helpful. the duvet cover still hadn't been changed the following day. We were given the same frosty reception for breakfast, not the best start to the day - the breakfast was very poor, watery eggs, poor quality sausages, greasy fried eggs, the list goes on - not worth the additional £12.50 that's for sure. There were three weddings in the hotel on the Saturday night was created the entertainment - perhaps would have been useful to know this in advance? However, this aside, there were fabulous bar staff, Dave in particular made us very welcome on the Friday evening of our stay - sadly he wasn't on duty the following night, but his colleagues did him justice!!! Overall, a poor quality hotel for it's 4 stars.

Room Tip: do not stay here is you need to be near the main city centre - great for walks and nature though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear KP73 13

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. We are sadly disappointed that your experience was not to your expectations during your recent stay with us. Your comments are very important to us and appreciate all your points high lighted in your review. Our standards of customer service is of the utmost importance to us in which we strive to achieve the best quality of service to our guests at all times. On this occasion you encountered a few issues that where not up to the normal standards that we like to offer our customers that makes its a memorable experience so I would like to take this opportunity to apologize and hope this was a one off failing on the service that we do always offer here at our hotel. I can ensure we will do our very best to rectify these from happening again. Once again we thank you for your feedback and hope we can welcome you back again and prove a better more enjoyable experience at The Ramada Plaza Hotel ensuring you of the best attention on your next visit.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Ramada for 2 nights on a short break to Belfast with our two children. The room was so quiet we all had great night's sleep! The hotel is very clean, staff are very nice and it's location to city centre is about 10 mins in car. The leisure facilities are excellent also. Will definitely be recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Toc345
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Plaza, Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza, Belfast

Address: 117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#16 Family Hotel in Belfast
#19 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza, Belfast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently upgraded from Ramada status to Ramada Plaza Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Plaza, Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza, Belfast Hotel Belfast
Ramada Belfast
Belfast Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza, Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.