We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza, Belfast

Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza, Belfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza, Belfast
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 2 Nights, Save 30%
Ranked #25 of 44 hotels in Belfast
1 review
“Great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff in the hotel were great, very friendly and welcoming. They made my daughter feel so important. The rooms are very clean and facilities are brilliant with the hotel offering so many facilities onsite

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Tijohns

Thank you for taking the time to post your review during your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments and are pleased that you and your family had a enjoyable stay at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. Its wonderful to know that you found the facilities brilliant and that we had plenty to offer for you and your family. The staff at the Ramada Plaza always ensure our guests are provided with a friendly welcome and helpful service at all times, thank you for your nice comments. We look forward to welcome you back again to The Ramada Plaza Belfast.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    185
    88
    49
    38
See reviews for
161
136
21
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here on a 2 night break with my cousin. Receptionist was friendly on check-in, but I felt we were rushed away from the desk because she needed to answer phones and whatever machines were buzzing at the time. Our room was quite small for a twin, even though I had emailed in advance and asked for a spacious room as my friend was in a wheelchair, the bin in the bathroom was half full from the previous guests stay. We had up-graded to the executive lounge but there was no mention of this on check-in, we had to go back to the desk to get information on this. Unknown to us at the time of booking the lounge was only open to from 6-8 in the evening, which didn't suit us as we were going out to concerts on both evenings, Clare a different receptionist did speak to a manager and did get the lounge opened for us before we went out that evening, and she also arranged a taxi for us, which was very nice of her. Snacks were supposedly to be provided in the Exec lounge and when we asked for some,we were told there was no nuts of crisps available as they are only ordered in for functions. Why advertise that they are included if they are not available. From what I can see it doesn't state on the website that the executive lounge is only open in the evening, we definitely wouldn't booked this if we had of known in advance. It was really a waste of £40 for us. We would of preferred to just get a refund.
Once we got checked-in we went to the bar to get some lunch.There seemed to be a conference on in the hotel and the attendees were going for lunch in the bar at this time, because of this there was a limited menu, which I can understand as it was busy. My friend ordered soup and sandwiches, the soup didn't come with the rest of our food so we had to ask for it again, the girl that brought it down had been really sloppy with the bowl and it had spilled over the edges of the bowl. I order the fish and chips which was very nice.
Breakfast was good on both mornings, a wide variety on offer. staff were very friendly.

We did have to borrow an extension cable from one of the maintenance men for the duration of out stay, which was no problem at all.

Overall we were very disappointed with our stay. I wouldn't stay again because of this and due to the fact that the hotel is quite a bit outside the city.

Room Tip: The hotel is quite a bit outside the city and the taxi firm that has a free phone is very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Deidre

Thank you for taking the time to post your review during your recent stay with us at The Ramada Plaza. We very much appreciate your feedback from your two night stay and are dissappointed to find that certain aspects of your stay did not meet our normal standards at this time. We will certainly follow up on your initial booking on your requests for your room requirements, and the executive package, on the breakdown of communication and information passed on during your check in, so we can understand what went wrong on this occassion. Its pleasing to know that our front of house team was helpful and friendly on your check in, at this time there was a large conference going on in the hotel so during this time there was a lot of activity going on throughout the hotel, however we must apologize for the service you received and the delay in food in the bar during your lunch. Thank you for your kind comments on the nice food, breakfast and friendly staff at the hotel which we hope allows for your other comments mentioned. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back again assuring you of our best attention at all time. Please make direct contact where we can assist in any special requirements in the future.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

well having worked hard all week and wanted to take the wife away for a nice night away from home with a few friends, we found this hotel had it all wrong... Staying in a lot of hotels every year on weekend breaks i never got treated as poorly as i did last weekend.. The Hotel had a function on up the stairs, and even though nothing to do with the down stairs bar, when we got settled into are room which to be honest was grand we met up with our friends in the bar and at first we were refused drink. I was then asked to prove i was a guest, then told there was no hot food been served, after finally reassuring the member of staff i was a resident we were then served are drinks in plastic cups. which is a joke to be honest from a 4 star hotel, being that hungry we all went for a sandwich which was on the menu for £4.50 each when we ordered 3 came to the table with no napkins salt pepper etc etc and we had to looking for the other one about 10 minutes later when all the rest of us was finished, the food to say the least was very poor (my child could have put up better) i could maybe see past this slightly if the bar was packed with people but seen that there was about 12 people in the whole place and 4 of them was us....all i can say it was poor. After been told when we went to book a table for 4 in the restaurant for that night, that they were not going to open it, i was ready to explode... we then needed to book a taxi into town to get food, on our arrival back we where then told we could not get a bottle of wine back to the room on room service by a member of staff who looked down on you as if you where a child and was on a complete power trip... i dont think i will ever stay at this hotel again or recommend it to any of my clients or friends in the future....very poor standard all round. this hotel has it all wrong

Room Tip: dont stay in the first place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Hollie 2002

Thank you for taking the time to post your review during your recent stay with us at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we are very disappointed to learn that you encountered a few service issues at this time. It is objective to maintain a high standard at all time within our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the standards failing on this occassion and would very much appreciate if you directly contact myself, or the Deputy General Manager regarding this. Thanking you for your comments.
Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

my husband and i stayed just the one night at the Ramada Plaza in Belfast as we went up to see the Titanic Experience. The hotel is a little way out of the city centre but although the staff were friendly the room we were given was in a freezing cold little corridor on its own. If it had been for more than one night we would have looked for a change. Although lovely, i found the hotel cold and lacking soul but the resturaunt however was excellent and we had a beautiful meal and the resturaunt staff were also excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Geraldine m

Thank you for taking the time to post your review during your recent stay at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. We very much appreciate your comments and sincerely apologize for the heating not being turned on in your room. All the heating can be controlled in the rooms and set at a comfortable temperature for our guests arriving to the hotel, however this was missed on that day. We are delighted that you found the Green Room Restaurant excellent, thank you for your nice comments on the beautiful food and excellent service from our staff, i do hope this counteracts for part of your stay with us. We do hope you will consider to stay with us a gain in the future, please make contact directly with our team to ensure we can provide the best accommodation and service on your next visit.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had two rooms here, both were large, clean and what you would expect. We checked in without prior booking, I asked for B&B but were quoted for room only so it seemed quite good value; it was only when we went for breakfast we realised that it was room only and breakfast was extra. Second night the hotel had a function on and other guests were rowdy until 05.30. Food was good and so was the service. Poor wifi

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Ian G

Thank you for posting your review during your recent stay with us at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. We very much appreciate your comments that you have mentioned in your review, depending on the rate available or selected at the time, we will follow this up with our front of house team on your reservation that you made on the day. We do hope you found our accommodation comfortable and to your expectations during your stay. However we apologize for the disturbance of noise you encountered by other guests on that evening and can ensure this is not a regular occurance in the hotel and hope this does not hinder you returning back for another stay in the future. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future assuring you of the best attention at The Ramada Plaza Belfast

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Following our weekend break, i feel so relaxed and ready to go again. Rooms were lovely..VERY comfy bed so had an amazing sleep. Enjoyed Jacuzzi and Pool. But the gem was by far the green room restaurant, food was so tasty and served promptly. Staff went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure our experience was a good one. I want to congratulate these men and women for all their hard work. Well done Ramada!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Claire C

Thank you so much for your kind comments during your recent stay with us at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities that the hotel offers and had time to relax in our leisure pool and jacuzzi at our LA Fitness within the hotel. We are delighted that you found The Green Room restaurant food tasty and service experience excellent on the evening great to know and we will ensure your comments are passed on to the team. It is always encouraging to hear our guest feedback as we are always striving to make it a very special experience, we do look forward to welcome you back again at The Ramada Plaza Hotel.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

A beautiful hotel. From staff, location, facilities, rooms, restaurants, health suite.. We experienced no problems through our stay. staff in the restaurant were particularly nice and very friendly. we requested a late check out which was no problem and also received a free drink eachAll were excellent. My friends and I had a wonderful stay and we would definatly stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Debs 1982

I wish to thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to learn that you and your friends had a wonderful time at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. It is encouraging to receive such positive comments as we are continually striving to make sure every guest has a very special experience with us. We are please that you would return to stay with us again in the future, we do look forward to welcoming you back again at The Ramada Plaza ensuring you of our best attention at all times.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Plaza, Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza, Belfast

Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza, Belfast Hotel Belfast
Ramada Plaza, Belfast Hotel
Ramada Belfast
Belfast Ramada
Address: 117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#17 Family Hotel in Belfast
#19 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza, Belfast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently upgraded from Ramada status to Ramada Plaza Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Plaza, Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza, Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.