We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my wifes 60 birthary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza, Belfast

Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza, Belfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza, Belfast
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #21 of 44 hotels in Belfast
lononderry
1 review
“my wifes 60 birthary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

good key points free carparking,excellant food ,good jim and swiming pool ,rooms very good ,staff very helpful good for walking and cycling , very nice location negative points bus stop to travel into the city centre to far to walk to the shuttle bus should have a better service it might be good idea if the shuttle bus it provided a service for xmas shopers for the guests inter net could be better

Room Tip: the that booked very good very clean and spacis
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Hugh

Thank you for posting your recent review during your stay at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. We do hope you and your wife had a enjoyable stay on her 60th Birthday at the hotel. Our team appreciates you kind comments and takes on board your suggested comments. We are delighted that all at the Ramada Plaza offers the facilities and surrounding location to suit all our customers requirements and provides the quality service to give a memorable experience. Thanking you for your comments and hope to Welcome you back at our hotel for another stay.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    230
    107
    52
    44
See reviews for
195
164
24
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My mother,sister and I stayed here on Thur 8h November 2012 as we were going to a concert at the Odyssey. On that note, it is around a 10 minute drive to the venue, taxi there cost around £10 one way. Free parking is a bonus. On arrival at hotel the receptionist was doing something on the computer and as I approached the desk he said 'give me a minute'. I thought that was off putting as a ' Welcome to the Ramada, Ill be with you in a moment' woulc have been warmer! But he was actually very helpful when we were checking in, and throughout our stay. We had lunch in the bar 'Surburbia', food was beautiful, I had prawn and salmon cocktail on wheaten bread. Price £6.50, very reasonable. My companions also enjoyed their food. The female bar staff was grumpy and miserable looking. The hotel itself, including our room, was spotless, no problems there. The pool, sauna and jacuzzi were ok, temperature of water in pool too cool, and there was a cracked tile in the jacuzzi covered with black masking tape, dangerous especially when there are children running about and swimming. However, we did enjoy these facilities, and the staff in the fitness suite were lovely. The rest of the hotel staff we encountered were great, very helpful and friendly. My mum is a diabetic and on returning from the evening out we asked for milk for her cereal and some jugs of water, he offered to bring them to our room and it was no bother to him. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous, great selection of Irish breakfast fare and continental, and the staff were more than helpful and friendly. The domestic worker the next morning was very nice and friendly; its these things that make a difference to our stay. Overall it was a nice experience, have had worse, and better. My mother, who never really travels or goes to hotels, was very impressed and wants to go back, so although my rating is average, hers would be excellent! It's subjective I guess!

Room Tip: All family rooms face the car park on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear caitlin01028

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ramada Plaza Belfast, and for taking time to post your kind comments. It is always a pleasure to hear our customers feedback both positive and negative. We take on board your views on your first arrival which could of been more welcoming, however we are glad you found our staff throughout the hotel to be very friendly and helpful. Its nice to know that you and your family enjoyed the facilities here at the hotel from the lunch in the Suburbia Bar and enjoyed the great breakfast choice. Overall its great to know you had a nice experience and would return for another visit.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We arrived at 13:50 hrs on the 1st Nov 2012 after driving for over 3 hours. The first words from the man on reception who booked us in were “you can’t book in before 14:00 hrs, definitely not before 14:00” there was no good afternoon welcome to the Plaza, did you have a nice trip etc.
This was an extremely negative first impression; even if we were 10 minutes early there was no need to be so rude. Next words were take a seat and I will check you in at 2.
Thankfully not all of the staff at the hotel were so unprofessional, the staff in the restaurant were very polite and friendly. We had a lovely meal/experience that night in the restaurant.
The small bed in the family room is not suitable to two kids.
I would return to eat in the plaza but not to stay due solely to the negativity on checking in.

Room Tip: Family room not suitable for two adults and two kids if kids are older than 5 (bed is small for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear tomrowland

Thank you for taking the time to post review, We appreciate your comments and firstly would like to sincerely apologize for the extremely poor reception welcome you received on your arrival to the hotel. We totaly understand how the first impressions at our hotel would of appeared, this is not the normal reception we would like to give to our guests. We are thankful to know that the rest of the staff had a professional approach and where polite and friendly and that you enjoyed your experience and meal in our Green Room Restaurant. We do hope the positive comments will make up for the negative one and would hope to welcome you to return to the Ramada Plaza Belfast.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Room was nice well presented and a good size, on arrival at our room it was freezing the windows had been left open, took a while for it to heat up! The bath could of done with a good clean, a brown stain in the middle of the bath nothing a bit of bleach could of sorted out! Overall nice hotel and enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Rab84

Thank you for posting your review during your recent stay at The Ramada Plaza, we appreciate both positive and negative feedback from our customers and recognise the importance of making everything as comfortable and enjoyable for our guests during their stay. We are dissappointed to hear you encountered a few issues with your room and apologize for failing to deliver our normal housekeeping standards, and sorry that the window had been left opened and obviously the room was cold this should have been checked prior to your arrival. On a positive note as you mentioned overall you enjoyed your stay which is nice to know, we do hope we will be able to welcome you back for another stay in the future.
Regards
Geraldine Mclarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Myself and my 2 daughters took my friend away to this hotel for her 50th birthday,we booked a health and leisure break with 2 spa treatments.The treatments were the best we have ever had and full marks to the staff in the omni centre for this they were all very nice and treated us all excellently.The hotel itself was excellent the rooms with 2 queen beds were brilliant and the breakfast was amazing.We also had dinner on 1 night in the green room resturant where we had the indian cuisine which was amazing the food and the staff was fabulous.Although the hotel is out of the city centre it was a 10min taxi ride costing about £7/8 which was fine,overall a great break and would return again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Libby803

Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is wonderful to hear such a nice review and are pleased that you had a lovely break at the Ramada Plaza Belfast. Our team are very appreciative of your feed back and glad you and your family and friend enjoyed the health and beauty and leisure treatments provided at the hotel, we will pass on your kind review to our Omni team they will be delighted. We are glad everything else from your bedroom, breakfast and your meal in our Green Room was excellent this is great its makes everything a wonderful experience at the Ramada Plaza Belfast. Our team would love to welcome you back again for another memorable stay. Thanking you so much.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in a family room (room only) at the Ramada for two nights during the mid-term October break. The hotel is well situated on the Belfast outer ring road allowing easy access to the City Centre via the Lisburn, Ormeau, Newtownards or Cregah Roads. It is clean, comfortable and affordable.

We used the leisure facilities and found the pool, sauna and steam room to be clean and not too busy. The leisure centre staff were approachable, friendly and helpful, and obviously committed to their job.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone considering a family break...its not luxurious...but was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Sellit

Thank you for taking the time to post your review during your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your two nights stay during mid term break and had the opportunity to make use of our leisure facilities, great you had time to relax and pamper yourself during your break. Our staff are always committed to ensure our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable experience at the hotel. Hope to see you back again at the Ramada Plaza Belfast assuring you of our best attention at all times.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Antrim, N. Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good hotel if you are going to Belfast. Its reasonably priced for what you get. Hotel has a gym, spa and pool that guests have full complimentry use of during their stay. rooms are comfortable and spacious, all with aircon to heat or cool your room so you have full control of ur heating or cooling. Unlike some hotels it has freeview in its rooms. Parking is free and plentify, which is a big bonus as many other hotels in belfast you need to park in nearby off street car parks that can cost around £18 for 1 overnight stay. hotel isn't within walking distance of the city but taxis are plentiful and the average trip into town is around £6-£7.

Room Tip: When booking do book bed and breakfast, as its not in the city centre its not as easy to pop out for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Ramada Plaza, Belfast, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Cjr-85

Thank you for posting your review during your recent stay at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to know that you found everything during your trip all to your pleasing and enjoyed the use of all our facilities that the hotel offers. We are glad that you found our rooms comfortable and had time to relax and avail of the leisure and spa treatments within the hotel. Its good to know that you found the location suitable, with good parking and easy access to the city. We do hope to see back for another visit, assuring you of our best attention at all times.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza, Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza, Belfast

Address: 117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#16 Family Hotel in Belfast
#18 Business Hotel in Belfast
#23 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza, Belfast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently upgraded from Ramada status to Ramada Plaza Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ramada Plaza, Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza, Belfast Hotel Belfast
Ramada Belfast
Belfast Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza, Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.